Drape Drape Book 1 Loose Top 1. Back to grey.

Drape Drape 1, No. 1. Cowl neck top.

Drape Drape Book 1, No. 1

One of my Works in Progress is finally done. This is my second Drape Drape cowl neck top and, like the first one, this came together easily. The only problem was me dragging my feet when it got to the last stages. These Drape Drape tops are the first time I’ve made a cowl neckline, I didn’t think it suited me, and I was surprised at the shape of the pieces when laid out flat.

I altered the original pattern a little by making the neckline drape sit higher and I took it in a bit. This was because I was using fabric I’d salvaged from the Drape Drape Goddess Dress Disaster. See below….

Please note cat tail in bottom left corner. Camera tarts.

I can imagine I’ll get lots more wear out of this in warmer months but it works OK layered. I’m walking around in a coat  and under so many jumpers, summer feels like a lifetime ago. It was hard to finish this when I was looking out into a bleak wintery sky. And now last week’s snow has disappeared, London is back to its all-too-familiar grey. I just couldn’t face staring at yet more grey while I was sewing.

DSC_1038

The cats are over the weather too. They’re averaging about 25 hours sleep each every day.

DSC_1035

About Vanessa

Sewing and assorted nonsense. For reasons that escape me, I left the sunshine and beaches of Australia for the crisps and glitter of London in 2001. I now live in the middle of some kind of feline drop-in centre in East London battling for space to make costumes and clothes. Over on twitter and instagram as @smittenness Email over here ------> smittenness@gmail.com
This entry was posted in A bit of chat.. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Drape Drape Book 1 Loose Top 1. Back to grey.

  1. Great top, which really suits you. How I love a cowl neck… Those cats of yours are hilarious!

  2. smittenness says:

    Thanks Anna. It’s nice and comfy. And work-appropriate too!

  3. Leila says:

    I just made a top like this tonight. I had used the pattern before so it was rather quick. I love your draped top! That neckline looks awesome on you. Do you know if there’s anyone it doesn’t look good on? Now, I’m curious. And lovely pictures. I don’t know why I’m always eager to get pictures of me standing up. I do sit, too.

    • smittenness says:

      Thanks, I was always put off by cowl necks but it’s really faltering. Getting decent light at this time of year for photos is such a pain, especially as I live in a basement flat. I had to perch on the back of the sofa near the only sunlit window and shift two sleeping cats to get that spot!

      • Leila says:

        oh, yeah, lighting in winter is a beast. You did good. I tried doing an outdoors shoot with my Star Trek skant but it was too cold, if you know what I mean. I had to re-shoot those. 🙂

  4. puu says:

    the layering is great. i’m definitely designing a few pieces with layering in mind!

Leave a comment