Works in Progress.

With any luck this will serve as a way to kick my own arse into actually completing these three projects soon. Maybe even this weekend. I’m thinking of this as a way to bully myself into getting things done.

These Two Drape Drape Tops.

Both of which I’ve made and posted before. Links here if you fancy a gander- asymmetric top and cowl neck top.

Asymmetric Top

Neckline gapes and the binding sits weird. Adjust the neckline, maybe by taking it in with a pleat (please no) or taking it in near the shoulders. Rip the binding off and remake(shudder, slippery annoying, easy fray fabric) or buy new ready-made binding in black.

Cowl neck top

Needs little taking in at the sides near the armhole (I’ve already pinned it in place so why the hell not just get on with it?). Bottom hem needs finishing and maybe take it in at the sides a bit.

Multi-way Dress of my own design but inspired by this on Burdastyle and this via youtube. I kind of get lost in wide cuts so I adapted it. To give you an idea of the shape, my version looks like this. For the purposes of clarity, I’m calling those “sticky out bits” the SOBs, which is appropriate.

Multi-way dress

But it could also look like this….

The back is the same cut as the front but I inverted the colours so it could also look like this…

It’s only sewn together at the sides, not over-locked, so I can pull it apart and play around with the shape. I need to commit to how narrow I want the hem and decide if I want it longer with a contrasting false hem (Maybe four is too many colour bands?) I imagine I’ll wear this more in winter which means I’ll be wearing tights so I’m practically obliged to go shorter. Bugger that. Leave it short.

All that remains is to overlock this sucker up the sides, hem it and attach belt loops at the SOBs and figure out a way to secure the SOBs so they can also sit inside the dress, like pockets. See the second “belted” view, this is what I mean.

Lining up the colour blocks is an absolute bitch and I almost managed it but one of the SOBs doesn’t quite line up. I’m planning on placing the belt loops in such a way so this is hidden. Necessity, mother of invention.

Four pieces to finish. I probably could’ve completed at least one of them in the time it’s taken me to write this but I figure if I put it out there, I’ll shame myself into getting them done.  All I have to do is get the cats to give going in and out of the house a break and make sure I don’t get distracted by my new pattern cutting book.

About Vanessa

Sewing and assorted nonsense. For reasons that escape me, I left the sunshine and beaches of Australia for the crisps and glitter of London in 2001. I now live in the middle of some kind of feline drop-in centre in East London battling for space to make costumes and clothes. Over on twitter and instagram as @smittenness Email over here ------> smittenness@gmail.com
This entry was posted in Sewing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

