Asymetrical Top. Drape Drape 2, no.4 (aka Walk the Line)

So, after much deliberation I opted to make this my first Drape Drape project. I’d seen quite a few of these made already, it seemed pretty straightforward and, for a change, it looked like something I could actually get a lot of day-to-day wear out of. Pattern tracing aside, I managed to put this together in about four hours spread over two evenings.

Red hat hiding absolutely ridiculous (and short-lived) decision to grow my hair.

I’d promised myself I’d add a bit more colour to my wardrobe and I’d avoid stripes for a change. Turns out, that was a stupid promise to make. Also, I like black and white. And I like stripes. They are infinitely wearable.

After the pattern’s all been traced and cut out, there are three (fairly) big pattern pieces. Make sure to mark the armhole end and any “align with X here” instructions. This design is pretty intuitive but some of them are a spatial nightmare without construction instruction – Drape Drape No.12, I’m looking at you.

I don’t have weights or a big sewing table and, apparently, I don’t even own ruler so I improvised. Cups in place of weights and boyfriend’s vinyl collection (shh) to draw straight lines (thanks, Johnny Cash). The straight grain should be in line with the neckhole, which is that big U shape at the top. Stretch goes horizontally across the body.

Trace around the pattern. I allowed 5mm but seam allowance is included.

Once it’s cut out, it’ll look like this.

At this stage, I was thinking “one armhole? Is this some kind of interpretation of a poncho?”. Don’t panic, just fold it in half.

Ah, now it makes sense! One side is batwing, the armhole start and end are indictated on the pattern, which of course you have dutifully marked. The batwing side is longer and will ruche up once you put it on.  From here on, it’s easy. One seam along the left shoulder, one along the right, one up the left side. Then, finish the raw edges. I made narrow binding tape, I made an attempt to follow the instructions in the book, then abandoned that and did it my own way.

All the designs are photographed on tall, slim and not in any way busty models so I was worried how sizing would work out. I made mine inbetween the two sizes given and I’m a 10-12. The back is a little wider than I’d like but I get that with a lot of clothes anyway.

A very fun, quick project. So simple I think my swearing barely reached a PG-rating. I know I could probably pick up something similar to from any high street store but, really? It sits better than any other cheap rubbish I could’ve bought and it so much more satisfying to actually sew it myself. And I’ve already started another one – this time in blue (abstract animal print, naturally)

I probably could’ve finished this top a lot quicker if I didn’t have to deal with this every time I turn my back. Annoying but oh-so-cute. But also annoying.

About Vanessa

Sewing and assorted nonsense. For reasons that escape me, I left the sunshine and beaches of Australia for the crisps and glitter of London in 2001. I now live in the middle of some kind of feline drop-in centre in East London battling for space to make costumes and clothes. Over on twitter and instagram as @smittenness Email over here ------> smittenness@gmail.com
This entry was posted in A bit of chat., Drape Drape, Sewing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Asymetrical Top. Drape Drape 2, no.4 (aka Walk the Line)

  1. Found you on BurdaStyle. Love this top. It’s on my ‘to do’ list… which is VERY long! Thanks for sharing.

  2. Helen says:

    It look awesome, Nessa, I’m tempted to give it a go but am soooo new to seeing I’m a bit timid.

  3. Pingback: Crocheted Cowl of many colours. (two colours really but who’s counting?) | Sew Smitten

  4. Pingback: Drape Drape 2: No 4 One Piece Scoop Neck Asymmetric Top – it’s love… | Sew Busy Lizzy

  5. Pingback: The tale of two drape drape knockoff shirts | IngeMaakt

Leave a comment