Crocheted Cowl of many colours. (two colours really but who’s counting?)

I’m embracing the cowl neckline! And getting crochet involved in this revolution.

Crocheted CowlAfter years of convincing myself I shouldn’t wear them, I’ve given in. It’s also taken me 12-odd years of living in the UK to finally accept that, yes, winter does last that long. I needed something bright and warm to get me through February and came across this pattern on Ravelry. Really easy to follow and quick to make, it’s a series of V-stitches worked in rows. The wool was just too heavy so I changed it a bit, I made it much shorter and narrower, added a reverse crab-stitch around the edges and fastened it at the back with a button.

Crocheted Cowl

A trip across London to Clapham (for yet another great haircut) involved a little time snooping round charity shops and yielded this haul of wool.

I must have lost my mind for a moment because this kind of colour palette is definitely not something I’d normally choose. I’m usually stuck in a black and white loop when sewing but this just doesn’t seem to be the case when I crochet. Maybe I’m just yearning for a break in the relentlessness grey of the London sky.

I had originally tried to use  this pattern  but then frogged it after taking this picture and started making it in a different weight in green/black. It’s going OK and with any luck it’ll be done soon. The pattern is lovely  but it was just too, too heavy. See?

IMG_9563

I’m really grateful for all the free resources, patterns and tutorials available on the internet. It’s really a beautiful thing to see so much knowledge and skill shared so freely.

I also like how this makes me look a little like the world’s most conspicuous bank robber.

Crocheted Cowl

Now I feel much warmer and if I can just sit out winter on the sofa with tea, biscuits and the cats on rotation, I’d be happy. Like Jack.

Jack. MyE3Cats

About Vanessa

Sewing and assorted nonsense. For reasons that escape me, I left the sunshine and beaches of Australia for the crisps and glitter of London in 2001. I now live in the middle of some kind of feline drop-in centre in East London battling for space to make costumes and clothes. Over on twitter and instagram as @smittenness Email over here ------> smittenness@gmail.com
This entry was posted in Crochet and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Crocheted Cowl of many colours. (two colours really but who’s counting?)

  1. Rachel says:

    Your cowl looks super cozy. Great job! Why did you think you shouldn’t wear them?

    Also, I want to rub that cat belly. So cute!

    • smittenness says:

      I think it’s more a cowl neckline on tops and dresses. I used to think it just made me look wider – no idea why! That cat is very sweet-natured, one of those rare cats that likes getting his belly rubbed. I’d lose my hand if I tried it on RocknRoll!

Leave a Reply

