Sewing the Sink the Pink Winter Ball 2015 -Tank Girl (with bonus Bryan Adams anecdote)

I’ve a bit of catching up to do on the last few months. Here’s a Tank Girl look I made earlier. A lot earlier, for the December 2015 Sink the Pink Heroes and Villains Ball.

640

Glynfamous as Tank Girl. 

This routine had some fairly vigorous choreography and a bunch of dancers in David Cameron masks. Pointedly political. And speaking of points…

475

Never before has a pair of tits given me so many sleepless nights. I trialed a few alternatives like plastic bottles (too light, no substance) or card (just no) before I finally went back to using foam.

 

These are just cylindrical foam pieces (from Shepherd’s Bush market) which I slowly carved into a bullet/bomb shape. I marked the centre and then carved away a little at a time until I was happy with them. Most of this time I was wishing for an electric carving knife, it makes this so much easier. Scissors worked just fine, although my wrists weren’t thrilled with the work.

 

Next, I covered them in white lycra and used black gaffa tape to get the checks on the tapered part. The fins are just part of a cardboard box covered in yet more black gaffa.

408

So far, so Tank Girl. But it needed a way to attach to a human person so I made one of those open bra tops in elastic. I really liked how this turned out even before I added the bombs to it.

384

Then it was just a matter of stitching the bombs directly onto the bra. In retrospect, I wish I’d secured them more thoroughly. Halfway through the number, the right boob/bomb was ready to liberate herself…

392

As a final touch, I camped up a helmet because it was completely appropriate. And necessary. Cheeky backstage pic, what a beauty.

631

I was so busy taking this shot, I turned around and literally bumped into Bryan Adams. Naturally, I didn’t recognise him because WHO EXPECTS BRYAN ADAMS? I assumed he was a performer not yet in drag and proceeded to ask him if he was “getting into a look” later. He was very gracious and said he was going onstage in a bit but not in a look and he enjoyed the tank girl look. Did I realise who he was? Not a bit. Not until he excused himself to go onstage, the opening bars of Summer of ’69 started and Glyn said “It’s Bryan Adams!”.

I’m so smooth.

634

 

 

About Vanessa

Sewing and assorted nonsense. For reasons that escape me, I left the sunshine and beaches of Australia for the crisps and glitter of London in 2001. I now live in the middle of some kind of feline drop-in centre in East London battling for space to make costumes and clothes. Over on twitter and instagram as @smittenness Email over here ------> smittenness@gmail.com
This entry was posted in Costumes, Sewing, Sink the Pink and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Sewing the Sink the Pink Winter Ball 2015 -Tank Girl (with bonus Bryan Adams anecdote)

  1. NO ONE EXPECTS BRYAN ADAMS! that is hilariously random

Leave a Reply

