Sequins, Fleas of Disco. 9 tearaway dresses for Sink the Pink at Glam Clam

Here’s a story of how I fought 13m of red sequins for a drag show in north London and won.

 

893

Maxi More and Shay Shay

The Glam Clam was a really fun night of dinner and a show at the Dome, Tuffnel Park. The concept is the brainchild of chef and author Gizzi Erskine. She designed the menu, Collette Cooper and Miss Kimberely  and their bands provided the tunes and Sink the Pink provided the batshit glamour. Me? I had strong words with sequins until they fell in line. I’m still finding remnants of batshit glamour throughout the flat (in the garden, in the bath, in my shoes etc).

As beautiful as this fabric is, it frays if there are scissors anywhere near it.

743

I mean, really. It looked like disco had exploded. They were everywhere and they stuck to me. I try to keep my costume work separate from my teaching but after I’d returned papers to my students sprinkled with unintentional sequins, I had to come clean and tell them what I’d been up to.

Oh yeah, sure Mr Landlord, (and your brother and your brother’s dog) you can come by tomorrow….

790

I think I read online that it was a good idea to put newspaper down to catch errant sequins. HAHAHAHAHAHAHA …..draws breath …….HAHAHAHAHAHA. Cool, now I have sequins AND random bits of the Metro all over the floor.

But, it was totally worth it. In the end I had 9 different tearaway dresses. And all this just one week after I finished costumes for the Sink the Pink Winter Ball 2015

910

The less I played with this fabric the better to be honest, I let the sequins work for themselves.

877

I made two tunics for Glynfamous and Maxi More.

823

A cowl neck dress for Miss DianaMight

804

70s inspired plunging neckline for Raven Mandella (Glyn photobomb)

847

Similar concept for Ted Rogers – but with plunging back

811

Slightly more structured look for pretty Alexus Deluxe

826

Wrap around number for JonBenet Blonde (bonus Maxi More photobomb)

842

Longer dress for Shay Shay

815

And, finally, an off the shoulder number for Foxxy (on right, Diana Might on left)

806

That Foxxy. So shy….little did we know it was so very very short it was obscene. So i had to recut.

753

Do I have any advice for using this fabric? Um, don’t? Lots of don’ts. Don’t involve too many seams or panels. Leave it alone and let it do its thing. Don’t rush. Don’t expect to some out of it unscathed (literally, I have scratches all over my arms).

And of course, Glyn wore the Diana Ross dress for one of the numbers too. Like liquid silver. Glyn wore it in the shoot for the publicity material for the show. One of my favourite creations of last year, which I am yet to post. I’m struggling to keep up!

870

For some reason I can’t embed the clip I have of the show but if you fancy some grainy footage head over this way.

 

924

About Vanessa

Sewing and assorted nonsense. For reasons that escape me, I left the sunshine and beaches of Australia for the crisps and glitter of London in 2001. I now live in the middle of some kind of feline drop-in centre in East London battling for space to make costumes and clothes. Over on twitter and instagram as @smittenness Email over here ------> smittenness@gmail.com
This entry was posted in Costumes, Sewing, Sink the Pink and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Sequins, Fleas of Disco. 9 tearaway dresses for Sink the Pink at Glam Clam

  1. aem2 says:

    Wow. You did an incredible job! Your comments about the sequins remind me of every time I walk past the glitter tulle in my LFS. Glitter (and sequins, I guess) are the herpes of the craft world. And sequins in students’ papers? Because they were so fabulous, right?

    • smittenness says:

      Thanks. And hahaha! Herpes of the craft world unite! I walk around barefoot a lot so they forever stick to my feet and end up everywhere (sequins, not foot herpes)

  2. Haven’t had a chance to comment on this post until now but I was p-ing myself reading it on the way to work. On a bus at 7am, Sequins are so much worse than fake fur for the mess. Everyone looked great though. I love the first picture, the lighting and composition are just wonderful – John Waters meets El Greco. Xx

Leave a Reply

