Sewing the Sink the Pink Spring Ball 2016

After two years of bi-annual balls, Sink the Pink are  now putting on 4 balls every year. FOUR OF THEM in 2016. You’ll find me by the trail of sequins I’m shedding.

With this being the first ball held in spring, the rehearsal and prep period was much shorter so deadlines were tight. But all those years of Catholic School came in handy since I did the bulk of the construction in the two weeks leading up to last Saturday’s show (whilst still holding down my day job). I’m still a bit shocked at how much I produced.

So welcome to Church of Sink the Pink….we’re sinning in mixed fibres, Leviticus would have a fit.

  1. 20 tearaway nun frocks and habits. Plus two adorable pink choir boy tearaway frocks and ruffs

IMG_7150[1]

2. One Garden of Eden Eve catsuit that had to withstand the death-dropping  ways of Raven Mandella. Oof look at the hair!

IMG_7171[1]

Raven Mandella is Eve (is a hedge)

3. Circle skirt Sporty Christ for Glynfamous. I love how happy he looks here.

IMG_7160[1]

Glynfamous is Sporty Christ

4. One Leona Lewisham Sister Act (and me in that cat dress again…no time to sew anything)

IMG_7092[1]

Leona Lewisham is your Sister Act

5. Possibly my absolute favourite piece I’ve made. Feathery Heaven. Or Barbara Cartland, or Fluffy Prawn depending on who you ask.

IMG_7034[1]

Glynfamous is Heaven (vis Liberace and Barbara Cartland)

I love it.

IMG_7036[1]

Oh go on, have a second pic. It’s only Beverly Knight!

6. One of the earliest cat suits I’d ever made given new lease of life in a Bowie number.

IMG_7156[1]

Shay Shay is Bowie (via a catsuit I made when I had just started this crazy ride)

And one last thing…things

7. Red Sequin dresses for Tainted Love. These were for another show last year and they looked so good, we rolled them out again. Originally, there were 9 tearaway (again, always tearaway!) dresses but I think 5 of these were reused last weekend.

910

Yeah, I did alright here. I’ve been uploading pics on Instagram but I’ll be dealing with these piece by piece in the next few days on here. Until then, here’s the opening number…

 

There were so many, many wonderful looks, go search the hashtag #sinkthepink on Instagram, cheer up yourself.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

About Vanessa

Sewing and assorted nonsense. For reasons that escape me, I left the sunshine and beaches of Australia for the crisps and glitter of London in 2001. I now live in the middle of some kind of feline drop-in centre in East London battling for space to make costumes and clothes. Over on twitter and instagram as @smittenness Email over here ------> smittenness@gmail.com
This entry was posted in Costumes, Sewing, Sink the Pink and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Sewing the Sink the Pink Spring Ball 2016

  1. Well done on your prolific costume production. That is a lot of work but looks like so much fun. I am in love with the Fluffy Prawn outfit. It is gorgeous. I also love your cat dress. Where did you get such amazing fabric from? I once made a dress for a work colleague in a very similar fabric (pink with grey almost life-sized kittens) and I kick myself for not getting more when I had the chance. Oh, and I have an ear worm now…….. “awwwwwwww, BABY!!”. 😀 Xx

    • smittenness says:

      Thank you. That’s such a nice comment! The cat dress deserves its own post really. It’s actually 2 dresses I bought from the market up the road which I cut up and remade into a long gown, then short….Remember that Simpsons episode where Marge remakes her dress? It’s like that!

  2. you are amazing! i have no idea how you do so much as well as having a day job! i think i would be developing a severe allergy to lycra and sequins in your position!

    • smittenness says:

      Ha! I was at it until 4am the night before but I guess I just can’t help myself. The nuns were a bit repetitive after the first 5 so the other bits kept me going

Leave a Reply

