Glastonbury Ponchos for Sink the Pink

In June (or possibly July) this year, I was knee deep in costumes for the Sink the Pink Summer Ball and in the midst of it all, I agreed to whip up a quick look for the girls for a couple of festivals over summer. These were used for the girls on stage with Todd Terje at London Field Day 2015 and also Glastonbury. And wow, did they look like they had fun!

glasto 2015

Field day 2015, bunch of sweethearts.

This is by no means the most complex of costumes I made last year but. when you’re trying to unify ten diverse drag queens, you have to keep it simple. White, fringed ponchos and floral flair seemed to fit the bill. Nice bit of movement, nice bit of colour, done. The most difficult part was keeping them clean.

Foxxy Glasto

Here’s the utterly beautiful, glitter-clad heartbreaker Foxxy Moron (above) showing us how it’s done at London Field Day on stage for Todd Terje.

IMG_3030

With the Summer Ball as well as these pieces, it was a very, very colourful time round mine.

IMG_3997

Screengrab from BBC livestream of Glastonbury

I got such a kick seeing them onstage. The set looked like loads of fun.

And look at how much joy the crowd get out of this!

As I mentioned, it was a very fast make, I think it took me a few hours once I had enough plastic fruit and the fabric unrolled and ready to cut. I’m calling this a triumph of “don’t second guess yourself and make sure you have a second set of blades for your rotary cutter!”

 

About Vanessa

Sewing and assorted nonsense. For reasons that escape me, I left the sunshine and beaches of Australia for the crisps and glitter of London in 2001. I now live in the middle of some kind of feline drop-in centre in East London battling for space to make costumes and clothes. Over on twitter and instagram as @smittenness Email over here ------> smittenness@gmail.com
This entry was posted in Costumes, Sewing, Sink the Pink and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Glastonbury Ponchos for Sink the Pink

  1. These look like such a lot of fun. Love the flowers. P.S. sorry wrote a long reply to you last post but I put links into it so it got lost. I will be making Leona from “League of Legends”. Teenagers! Xx

    • smittenness says:

      cool! I sometimes wonder if I should start looking into cosplay. The last ball had a lot of representative/literal looks (Tank Girl, Kill Bill characters) which was a bit of departure for me (and the girls).

Leave a Reply

