Sewing Catsuits.

I swear this catsuit was not intentionally Flake-inspired. But it still looked pretty cool.

Flake Catsuit 2 JPEG

Photography by Michaela Kidd  taken at Bethnal Green Working Man’s Club

Wait for it….


You see? Yeah, now, like me the night before it was due, bet you can’t unsee.

I seem to enjoy making a rod for my own back with all the panel details I put into these catsuits. Making this symmetrical was just another way I like to annoy myself too.

Actually, that’s misrepresenting myself. I love working with lycra. It doesn’t cause me grief, I’ve figured out where to get decent, non-see-through lycra at a reasonable price and I love how it completely changes once it’s on a body. I like figuring out style lines and how that throws shapes onto the body. So the body gives shape to the shapes I’ve cut in the panels and the shapes I’ve cut gives shape to the body which….repeat til fade. I don’t get anywhere near this type of thinking when I’m sewing or cutting though. It’s usually more like “how much more Erasure can I inflict upon the rest of the people nearby? Is it time to switch to Diana Ross?”

Flake catsuit

I do love a bit of power mesh. 2015, year of the power mesh panel.

This look was commissioned by GlynFamous to be worn to a party he hosted in Singapore – way back in April! There’s a great shot here of Glyn in action. The Sink the Pink girls have had a heavy list of costume demands this year so I’m documenting the backlog while I have a break.

_DSC1438resize (1)

Photography by Michaela Kidd 

Flaketastic, right? I love how the back turned out.  I’m also really pleased that Michaela and I had the chance to get these shots taken at The Bethnal Green Working Men’s Club. It’s a fantastic venue that nurtures a lot of talent and hosts so many diverse events, a proper community venue that takes everyone in. It’s been a real privilege to be able to have had the chance to be a small part of it and get to know some of the staff.. It’s also been the home of Sink the Pink for year now and the club has grown so much in that time. So much so that it cannot be contained by the Working Men’s Club anymore and Sink the Pink held their (a few NSFW pics of bums in thongs in this link) last regular party  there a few weeks ago. Sink the Pink hasn’t ended though, four balls next year rather than two (FOUR!) and many other shows throughout 2016. Fun times!

 

(Please ask before using any of the images in this post. Thanks)

 

 

 

 

 

About Vanessa

Sewing and assorted nonsense. For reasons that escape me, I left the sunshine and beaches of Australia for the crisps and glitter of London in 2001. I now live in the middle of some kind of feline drop-in centre in East London battling for space to make costumes and clothes. Over on twitter and instagram as @smittenness Email over here ------> smittenness@gmail.com
This entry was posted in Costumes, Sewing, Sink the Pink and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Sewing Catsuits.

  1. That is an amazing catsuit. Do you use a pattern or just draft it yourself? I am asking as I have been asked by my daughter for a cosplay costume and it needs a catsuit underneath the armour. The things we let ourselves in for! Xx

    • smittenness says:

      I was given a pattern by a very generous friend who’d drafted it. The one I use is a combination of that pattern and modifications I’ve made over time. I’ve got another one from somewhere that I incorporate too depending on who I’m making for. What type of cosplay are you thinking of making?

Leave a Reply

