PVC Rainbow.

We’re not in Kansas anymore Toto.

IMG_4050

This was another collaboration with one of my dearest friends, Glyn. I made this back in April to be worn at The NYC Downlow at Glastonbury. I’m not sure if that’s where it had it’s debut but it turned up at a roof top pool party after London Pride 2015.

IMG_4002

Sorry for screenshots (and the 14% battery, I tend to play fast and loose with my battery life). I tried to talk him out of PVC, I really did. If it were a matter of standing round looking wipe-clean and gorgeous, things would be different but he moves. He really moves and I wanted to make sure this wouldn’t restrict him.

IMG_3293

So far, so good, right? OK, time for some honesty. I made this fast, super fast without a fitting until the day before it was needed.  Also, I hadn’t had that much experience with this type of fabric before. I know Glyn’s measurements pretty well but this fabric has almost zero stretch vertically and not a lot horizontally. It was far too short in the body so I had to think fast and add an extra panel. We also decided to have the legs as separates from below the knee. It just looked better and was more practical given how little this stuff breathes.

If I were to do this over again, I’d incorporate a powermesh panel somewhere along a horizontal so it had more give. As it was, I used a lattice cut PVC panel along the yoke which gave us more stretch.

IMG_3303

I do love it though. I’m very aware of how lucky I am to be given all this freedom to just go for it creatively and have such wonderful people to work with.  It’s all down to my association with Sink the Pink, I’m beyond proud to be working with them.  I’ve learnt so much and really been challenged and I realised last week that problem solving is one of the most important skills when it comes to any creative project.

Also….this was completely unintentional. But looks very Kennedy Davenport RuPaul Season 7. You remember that stunning Rico Cavalli rainbow dress? I’ve only just started following him on instagram and his work is beautiful.

I have so much to catch up on blog-wise but I’m usually posting over on Instagram, there’s a lot of sequins over there at the moment (and me swearing about my crappy landlord and the shitty lights in this flat!) I wonder how much appeal blogs will still hold this time next year. I like them, a lot. But it’s so much easier to scroll and interact via Instagram (the wordpress app does my head in!)

 

 

 

 

About Vanessa

Sewing and assorted nonsense. For reasons that escape me, I left the sunshine and beaches of Australia for the crisps and glitter of London in 2001. I now live in the middle of some kind of feline drop-in centre in East London battling for space to make costumes and clothes. Over on twitter and instagram as @smittenness Email over here ------> smittenness@gmail.com
This entry was posted in A bit of chat., Costumes, Sewing, Sink the Pink and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to PVC Rainbow.

  1. Lovely. Really like the 2-part legs and the colour blocking. You get to make the most fun stuff. PVC is a nightmare to sew and fit. I have made a lot of clothes/corsets in it and always use tissue paper as a top layer so it slides through my machine. Always say never again, until the next time. Xx

Leave a Reply

