Drag Race against the clock. Sewing for the Sink the Pink Winter Ball

There are five, FIVE, days exactly til the Sink the Pink Winterball 2015 and all the super hero looks I still need to finish. I’m sewing faster than ever before!IMG_3562

There are two weeks til Glam Clam – that’s 9 sequinned dresses.

IMG_3563

And 4 days til Camp as Christmas and one pink fur coat deadline ( I may have already finished this by the time  post this – wild optimism speaking there).

IMG_5003[1]

Sometime in mid-December, I’ll be in a position to (temporarily) evict the sequins from my life. Possibly. Bloody sequins.

IMG_3567

But sequin eviction will have to wait because, FIVE DAYS and ….

Six leotards/pants

Plus this (not-a-banana) banana yellow catsuit. You can probably guess what this is for.

IMG_3565

And the rest… Kimono, Cruella Deville coat, Tank Girl look, Storm (X-Men) look, cat woman and other miscellaneous capes and gloves. I’m on about 21 pieces in the last three weeks. And do I have anything to wear to the ball? Great big nope. I think I’ll end up going as Super Gran, I’m all hunched over and have no time to dye my hair so I’m already in character!

Somewhere in the chaos I was confused enough to agree to whip up this off the shoulder, one leg catsuit for Sink the Pink’s ‘Into the Wild’ night last Saturday.

IMG_3571

I’m actually kind of shocked at how much I’ve managed to produce. Especially, since last week, my overlocker finally carked it. Sad times, we’d been through a lot, I may have cried. Mainly tears of OMFG WHY NOW?!!! but I found comfort in my new ELNA 664 –  purchased from Sew Amazing in Bow, who are ace and super knowledgeable. It’s great. I can say with confidence that despite the bond I shared with my old workhorse ovelocker, I’m over the heartbreak and there’s no looking back for me and my ELNA. The only sting is, I’d had my eye on a coverstitch machine because it’d make the Lycra in my life so much more loveable but that’ll have to wait. This is by no means a hardship so I’l put my tiny violin back in its case.

IMG_3570

Last year’s ball was so much fun, I really can’t wait til this one!

Last year’s Winter Ball over here for dresses and here for catsuits. 

 

 

About Vanessa

Sewing and assorted nonsense. For reasons that escape me, I left the sunshine and beaches of Australia for the crisps and glitter of London in 2001. I now live in the middle of some kind of feline drop-in centre in East London battling for space to make costumes and clothes. Over on twitter and instagram as @smittenness Email over here ------> smittenness@gmail.com
This entry was posted in Costumes, Sewing, Sink the Pink and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Drag Race against the clock. Sewing for the Sink the Pink Winter Ball

  1. Renee says:

    Hi , Can you please tell me what sort of needles you use to sew your foil lycra or tips how , I have tried just about every needle type and I cant get it to not skip stitches Thanks heaps

    • Vanessa says:

      I do most of my foil lycra sewing on my overlocker using ballpoint or stretch needle (although I’m not always strict on that with the overlocker). Most times I find that skipping stitches = blunt needle. Hope that helps x

Leave a Reply

