The bride wore Nude Power Mesh and Tulle. Sewing for Sink the Pink

I had loads of fun sewing this catsuit for Sink the Pink’s Wedding themed night. As ever, my muse and collaborator on this was Glynfamous.

2015/07/img_8688.jpg

This was made around the middle of April and I think I’ve only just managed to put the memory of all that gathering of tulle behind me.

2015/07/img_8576.jpg

12 inches is enough, right? ; )

2015/07/img_8564.jpg

My output has been pretty literal lately – chickens, Flamingotits, pineapple dress, Divine, Diana Ross (haven’t posted some of those yet) – and these bring me a lot of joy, to the point that I end up laughing to myself and startling the cats. But this look was one of the more conceptual costumes I’ve made this year. I really wanted to make it beautiful.

Glyn started by emailing me (two links maybe not safe for work, transparent dress = nipples. The horror etc) this with a preference for ‘preferably peach, maybe nude’. Here’s another pic. So the inspiration was only Alexander bloody McQueen. Something like this had to be nude-toned, and to make life more difficult for myself, I decided to make the shoulder detail symmetrical. Because, obviously, I like to hate myself.

2015/07/img_8608.jpg

Not quite symmetrical here but you see where I’m heading. The tulle was folded once lengthwise, then I ran it through my overlocker on a gathering setting. The tension wasn’t quite high enough so I held one of the threads down as it fed through to increase it – just thinking about that makes me wince for my poor old loyal Janome. Sorry girl, I put you through so much, sequins, PVC, fake fur… and you never let me down. Rather than piss myself off and stitch the tulle directly on to the cat suit, I stitched it to a power mesh panel and hand stitched that to the cat suit.

2015/07/img_8610.jpg

I hand stitched the zip at the back and it was finished but not quite ‘done’. A few beads, later and I was finally happy with it. I like a bit of movement and it breaks up the colour.

So, there is is. McQueen-inspired wedding cat suit. Although I think I may have been subconsciously channelling my parents’ chickens.

2015/07/img_8776.jpg

This is one of my favourite photos of Glyn ever, on stage being piggy-backed by Steph of The Bethnal Green Working Man’s Club. I’ve taken this from the Sink The Pink Instagram account – NSFW.

2015/07/img_8691.jpg

I also made a little something for myself, more on the cat print dress later…

2015/07/img_2982.jpg

About Vanessa

Sewing and assorted nonsense. For reasons that escape me, I left the sunshine and beaches of Australia for the crisps and glitter of London in 2001. I now live in the middle of some kind of feline drop-in centre in East London battling for space to make costumes and clothes. Over on twitter and instagram as @smittenness Email over here ------> smittenness@gmail.com
This entry was posted in Costumes, Sewing and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to The bride wore Nude Power Mesh and Tulle. Sewing for Sink the Pink

  1. Leila says:

    This is awesome! Oh yeah tulle! Ugh. Hope you can take another nostalgia pill to dull the memory. Haha and your cat dress looks amazing on you!

  2. I love the nude costumes! Shoulder tutus are definitely going to make an appearance in one of my costumes one of these days. Brilliant!

  3. Emma says:

    Can’t wait to hear more about the cat dress. Hi – I have been reading for a while but never left a comment before. I’m from Perth too, love your blog.

    • smittenness says:

      Thank you! What a lovely thing to read! The cat dress was two (admittedly awful) dresses I found at the markets, chopped up and made into one dress. I wish I could wear it more frequently! I hear you’re having a very cold winter, so kind of like our summer atm!

Leave a Reply

