Chicken costume for the win. Sewing for Sink the Pink & Glynfamous

That’s right, chicken dungarees for Sink the Pink. We’re into surreal sewing territory here. Fluffy, messy, faux fur forever everywhere . I had to do these fairly quickly so I didn’t have time to think too hard about wtf I was actually doing with my evenings.

2015/07/img_9128-1.jpg

Sewing faux fur can be a massive pain in arse but that’s mainly because I hate hoovering and I worry about clogging up my machines. There are a lot of tips about using faux fur about, some I found useful, some didn’t apply to this project. Things like, ‘Shave the seam allowance’ – sounds fun but not worth the bother.

2015/07/img_9124.jpg

‘Keep the nap or pile going the same direction, cut through the backing rather than the fur and allow for the bulk in seam allowances’ – these are all good pieces of advice. That and, ‘clean your machine as you go’. The main thing to keep on mind is not to be intimidated, it’s going to be fine. Much like the advice I see on sewing with stretch fabrics, it’s not ‘OMFG so scary’, it’s fabric. It’s not the boss of anyone. Go slow, enjoy it.

2015/07/img_9123.jpg

I added a little chicken tail at the back here to really chickenify the look, Glyn styled it perfectly with red heels, hat and wig. Chicken winner! It even looked good free range outside a few weeks later.

2015/07/img_3217.png

I wish I had a clip of the performance this was used in but you’ll have to click over to this clip of Wang Rong Rollin and their chicken song. It’s batshit enough as it is but imagine a gang of drag queens crowded onto a stage and flapping their wigs while it plays.

I rolled out my cat dress yet again for that show, don’t judge. But, let’s face it, noone is that likely to notice my repeating looks against the backdrop of drag chicken J pop. Besides, I love that dress. More on that one later

2015/07/img_3218.png

About Vanessa

Sewing and assorted nonsense. For reasons that escape me, I left the sunshine and beaches of Australia for the crisps and glitter of London in 2001. I now live in the middle of some kind of feline drop-in centre in East London battling for space to make costumes and clothes. Over on twitter and instagram as @smittenness Email over here ------> smittenness@gmail.com
This entry was posted in Costumes, Sewing and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Chicken costume for the win. Sewing for Sink the Pink & Glynfamous

  1. How did l not know I needed furry chicken dungarees? I really need some!

  2. Alex says:

    I’m not even joking, but how come you get to work with all these really good looking people?!?? The outfit is also awesome!!

  3. I have no idea how you have time to sew up all these costumes! And ugh! I hate faux fur, the damn stuff gets everywhere! But you persevered where I might have had to draw the line. 😉

Leave a Reply

