Sewing the Sink the Pink Summer Ball. Let’s talk about Flamingotits

With the most humility I can muster…how cute is Amyzing in this?

2015/07/img_3202.jpg

I banged on about it enough on Instagram so I think it’s obvious how much I loved making this

2015/07/img_3117.jpg

I was aiming to translate the joy and celebration of the poster for the Summer Ball into lycra form. That’s what I told myself but I was having so much fun adding sequins, beads, eyelashes that it just took on a life of its own.

2015/07/img_9520-0.jpg

I’d never appliquéd anything before but it was surprisingly easy. As long as everything was tacked down first, it worked fine. The fact that this piece is symmetrical created a rod for my own back but there was enough time to do it right. There will be many more of these in the future!

2015/07/img_9448.jpg

The back looked a bit plain so I added a heart at the base. Luckily, the feather bustle started just under it so it was still visible. The feathers gave me a bit of a dilemma, all those dead birds. I consoled myself by buying second-hand boas to minimise the cruelty. They’re stitched onto hip pads with can be detached, which means they can be stored separately and won’t fall apart so quickly. This extend the lifespan of the piece and the lifespan of the feathers. Once the bustle is off, the leotard has a little skirt made of lycra ‘feathers’ so it can be worn like that too. It’s very ‘Dancing on Ice’.

The eyes took ages to get right. I kept changing my mind, the flamingo looked angry, sleepy, sneezy…all the seven dwarves. I’m still not convinced (maybe longer eyelashes?) but there’s so much else going on, it works ok.

2015/07/img_9705.jpg

I didn’t get many pics of the pineapple dress next to it but I’ll post about it shortly.

One more. This was lifted from the Sink the Pink Instagram account and taken at the after-Pride pool party hosted by STP. Drag queens in a pool – this is both a terrific and terrifying idea. Mascara waterfall. I made the PVC number on Glynfamous too but that’s another story.

2015/07/img_9811.jpg

Pineapple headpiece by Ciara Monohan

About Vanessa

Sewing and assorted nonsense. For reasons that escape me, I left the sunshine and beaches of Australia for the crisps and glitter of London in 2001. I now live in the middle of some kind of feline drop-in centre in East London battling for space to make costumes and clothes. Over on twitter and instagram as @smittenness Email over here ------> smittenness@gmail.com
This entry was posted in Costumes, Sewing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Sewing the Sink the Pink Summer Ball. Let’s talk about Flamingotits

  1. Nicoletta says:

    I am always amazed by the pieces of art you create! You are one of my inspirations!!!

Leave a Reply

