Sewing the Sink the Pink Summer Ball 2015 – part 1

The Sink the Pink Summer Ball was so full of love and fun. And safety pins and many, many sequins. With the ball, Pride, Glastonbury and other festivals it’s basically camp Christmas round this time of year. I’ve been pretty flat out swearing at PVC, feathers, glitter, chiffon and loads of lycra. At last count I’ve made about thirty pieces in the last three months. I think. But I’ll limit this to pieces I made for the Summer Ball.

First up, 6 outfits for dancers. The brief was ‘sexy, voodoo-esque, nature-loving, hippy’. The choreography was fairly intense so no headresses or anything that would impede movement. I didn’t want to make it too dark so I ended up with this.

2015/07/img_9692.jpg

2015/07/img_9706.jpg

To be completely honest, I couldn’t settle on the design for these for ages. I toyed with using neoprene and making huge neckpieces but it wasn’t working out. Once I decided on that teal colour and started slashing the tops and pants, it became easier.

2015/07/img_9654.jpg

2015/07/img_9639.jpg

2015/07/img_9575.jpg

2015/07/img_9712.jpg

Of course I had finished these a week before the show but in that week I decided I hated them and took them apart only to remake them exactly the same way. What a twat. What a mess

2015/07/img_9631.jpg

I was lucky enough to dress Chester Hayes, Aimee, Laura, Brooke, Raven Mandella and Ted Rogers. I love these guys. They could make anything look good. They’re super fun and very professional. Love them to bits.

Go check out Chester – (that’s a safe for work link) and the rest of the pics on the Sink the Pink Facebook page….might not be SFW.

2015/07/img_3198.jpg

I’ll get round to posting the rest soon

About Vanessa

Sewing and assorted nonsense. For reasons that escape me, I left the sunshine and beaches of Australia for the crisps and glitter of London in 2001. I now live in the middle of some kind of feline drop-in centre in East London battling for space to make costumes and clothes. Over on twitter and instagram as @smittenness Email over here ------> smittenness@gmail.com
This entry was posted in Costumes, Sewing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Sewing the Sink the Pink Summer Ball 2015 – part 1

  1. projectpatrol says:

    Looks like a blast for sure. Very cool you’re a part of something so incredibly creative.

Leave a Reply

