Faux Fur Jacket for February

Ok I lied. I actually ended up sewing this faux fur jacket in December. I regret nothing! It was worth it to get that bit of alliteration in. So here’s my Faux Fur in February Jacket. Don’t grass me up for the fibs.

Faux Fur Jacket

The first thing I should point out is that I lined it in tiger print. You noticed already, right? The animal print love affair remains as strong as ever. I dare say this is the longest relationship I’ve had in my life but it does mean a lot of my clothes are in a constant state of camouflage .

Faux Fur Jacket

To male this I used my trusty jacket block, which I drafted using Aldrich’s Metric Pattern Cutting. There’s no collar, no closures and no fiddly details so the biggest challenge was cleaning up the bits of fluff that ended up carpeting the flat. Seriously, it looked like the cats had been hosting Kitty Fight Club in the living room.

RocknRoll, despite his name, prefers to seethe quietly like a stereotype of an English cat rather than get punchy.

RocknRoll, despite his name, prefers to seethe quietly like a stereotype of an English cat rather than get punchy.

The faux fur I bought from Dalston Mills. It’s got a nice wave in the nap, which gives it a nice texture but meant that I had to be conscious of how I was matching my panels. It’s a little thin for really cold nights and I could’ve underlined it but it’s a loose enough fit that I can layer underneath if need be. Looking at it in my garden and in daylight, it looks a little out of place but I really do love it and it makes much more sense at night.

Ok, so confession time. Do you notice anything weird in the picture below? I mean apart from the fact that I’m all dressed up to stand in the sandy patch in my garden and confuse the neighbours.

Faux Fur Jacket

Do you see how I managed to run out of fabric for the sleeves? I really ran quite short, not even adding a piece at the end of each sleeve would save it. I just ran out of fabric. But, who cares!?

Roll those sleeves up and no one will ever know. I usually end up doing this anyway and this way I get to break up the black and flash the lining. I doubt I’ll be wearing this is super cold weather so I’m not too concerned about frozen wrists.

About Vanessa

Sewing and assorted nonsense. For reasons that escape me, I left the sunshine and beaches of Australia for the crisps and glitter of London in 2001. I now live in the middle of some kind of feline drop-in centre in East London battling for space to make costumes and clothes. Over on twitter and instagram as @smittenness Email over here ------> smittenness@gmail.com
This entry was posted in Sewing and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Faux Fur Jacket for February

  1. jay says:

    Pretty good! I took the sleeves to be intentrional, so that worked!

  2. Lynne says:

    This is gorgeous! I love the lining.

  3. Love it! And I never noticed the sleeve thing.

  4. gingermakes says:

    This is really cool! Awesome job!

Leave a Reply

