Mistletoe and Whine.

I almost titled this Camel Toe and whyyyyyy have I changed my mind?

In my last post I was happily getting involved in making three outfits for the Sink the Pink Winter Ball. I’d run up a couple of lycra costumes and had started planning where I’d put the panels in the cat suit. Then, on a trip to Goldhawk Road for a few things, I fell in love with foil lycra. There it was right near the door, calling to me.

Dammit.

20141205-172253-62573265.jpg

It was like a whirlwind love affair, we got involved very quickly and started something beautiful. A few days later and I could barely look at the bloody fabric without thinking, ‘you’ve ruined my life (or at least my evening), I need a drink just to be able to look at you. Oh god, I’m sick of looking at you. I’m going out to go look at something more stable, like a cotton’

*slams door*

*goes cruising Goldhawk Road and caresses all the wovens*

20141205-172551-62751616.jpg

But, we’ve reconciled and it’s more wonderful than ever. I understand the limitations of this stuff better. I even managed to get a zip in the centre front of Chester’s catsuit. No mean feat, this fabric has a no unpicking policy! It’s super fussy and I was a bit worried it wouldn’t hold up to the energetic choreography but I think things are going to work out just fine.

20141205-173224-63144488.jpg

I’ve seen the catsuit and the leggings on and they are just about done. Jono’s dress is a little further behind but I’m planning on having that done by Monday.

It’s only 8 days til the show and I cannot wait. Of course, I have no idea what I’m going to wear yet. Probably a hangover and some eye liner. I may have to roll in glue and throw myself into the remnants to see what sticks!

About Vanessa

Sewing and assorted nonsense. For reasons that escape me, I left the sunshine and beaches of Australia for the crisps and glitter of London in 2001. I now live in the middle of some kind of feline drop-in centre in East London battling for space to make costumes and clothes. Over on twitter and instagram as @smittenness Email over here ------> smittenness@gmail.com
This entry was posted in A bit of chat.. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

