Lycra love-in. Get your drag on! The Sink the Pink Winter Ball is fast approaching!

I had such a blast sewing costumes for the Sink the Pink Summer Ball, I’ve come back for more. This week I’ve been mostly Lycra-wrangling and working out designs for a trio of dancers. If I had to put the look in words it’d be ‘ girl band, fire, fire, catsuit, hip pads, sex’ . Looking at it written down it looks like a pretty busy weekend… But, in fact, it’s going to look something like this.

Outfit one, which I’ll refer to as the Chester.

20141129-120525-43525198.jpg

The decision making process probably takes me longer than the actual construction. I’m going with a version of the view on the left, the one in the right looked too much a like suit of armour! I’m toying with the idea of an arm piece that resembles armour for another outfit but we’ll see how things go. I end up with a whole raft of possible directions I could go in and, if I had the time, I’d pursue all of them. I’ve learnt to go over rejected sketches rather than throw them out immediately, there’s usually something useful in there.

20141129-121659-44219029.jpg

So far, so good for the Chester. The catsuit will be the base and I’ll make other pieces to the shoulders. Outfit two, the Jono, is practically done. A body con dress as a base but I’ll be adding hip pads as a separate piece later this week once I figure out proportions.

20141129-122209-44529242.jpg

20141129-122237-44557005.jpg

The third look, the Ted, is still on paper but I have a complete idea down so it’s just the process of cutting and stitching that needs doing.

I’m so happy to be working in these, it’s bringing me a lot of joy not only in terms of sewing but also to be making something for these three talented and lovely guys.

And now, I’m off to Shepherd’s Bush to collect supples!

About Vanessa

Sewing and assorted nonsense. For reasons that escape me, I left the sunshine and beaches of Australia for the crisps and glitter of London in 2001. I now live in the middle of some kind of feline drop-in centre in East London battling for space to make costumes and clothes. Over on twitter and instagram as @smittenness Email over here ------> smittenness@gmail.com
This entry was posted in Costumes, Sewing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Lycra love-in. Get your drag on! The Sink the Pink Winter Ball is fast approaching!

  1. Laurie says:

    Yowza- Great drawings! Looking forward to seeing it come to life!

  2. CGCouture says:

    Those insets look tricky, I’ve tried to do them (unsuccessfully, I might add) on less slippery fabric and failed miserably, my imaginary hat’s off to you! Can’t wait to see the finished costumes!

Leave a Reply

