Sewing the Colette Sorbetto. A totally out of season sewing post.

I thought I better post something that’s not a peacock or a lycra snake lest I give the impression I wander round dressed like a one-woman pantomime. Although when I think about it, that could be a really fun idea and would at least keep me warm….it might just happen.

Here’s something that I probably spend more time ironing than wearing.

Of all the free sewing downloads, I like the Colette Sorbetto. It’s a nice blank slate to use as a bodice block. I’ve only ever made the Hawthorn dress from Colette and, as sweet as it is, it’s not really me. But, it did teach me a lot thanks to the sew-along posts.
IMG_1710

 

I can see the fit issues in this orange top even with my eyes closed. Darts too high, too tight and the placement of that blue flower on the right could’ve been better thought out. But, you win some, you lose some, it’s still wearable so I can live with that.

This is another version I made up last year and never got round to posting. I made binding for it and all, wore it til it fell apart and never bothered to get a decent photo of it.

IMG_1613

It took me ages to use these fabrics, I got them on a trip to Australia and, if memory serves, my nonna bought them for me. I guess I was saving them for something special but then I figured I should use them on something I’d wear more frequently. The print’s loud but they make me happy.

 

About Vanessa

Sewing and assorted nonsense. For reasons that escape me, I left the sunshine and beaches of Australia for the crisps and glitter of London in 2001. I now live in the middle of some kind of feline drop-in centre in East London battling for space to make costumes and clothes. Over on twitter and instagram as @smittenness Email over here ------> smittenness@gmail.com
This entry was posted in Sewing and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Sewing the Colette Sorbetto. A totally out of season sewing post.

  1. Nicoletta says:

    Have the Sorbetto in my stash for like ages and haven’t made yet. Better give it a try! Yours are lovely!!!

Leave a Reply

