Sewing the Kung Fu Panda costumes. Lord Shen. Part 2 of 3.

This is a costume for Kung Fu Panda’s Lord Shen, albino peacock, evil genius and pretty swish in the sartorial stakes. In fact, it’s kind of obligatory for all evil characters to look impeccable  (struggling to resist impeckable pun there).  Last month I made three costumes for Magical Quests, a company that hosts events and plays, and this particular show was a children’s party based around Kung Fu Panda. The Master Shifu costume I made is over here.

Lord Shen

For reference here’s Lord Shen as he is in the film. Pretty impressive, right? I had to find a way to interpret this look within the time and performance constraints. Much like the Master Shifu and Snake headdresses, this was built around a tight-fitting lycra hood and one celebratory can of Polish lager, austerity times.

I look a bit like a novice nun in this picture. Almost.

Lord Shen

I added chiffon “feathers”, covering the head and down the neck and finally a crest of red and white feathers. The whole thing is secured by ties that join under the chin.

Lord Shen

I didn’t want to take it off. It sure made the daily “what the hell are you doing?” conversation with my hair easier.

Kung Fu Panda

The last part was a cape of white and red “feathers” which was worn over an existing gown. To make this I used white chiffon with a scalloped hem and layered red chiffon over the top. At one point the scallops looked a bit bosomy. Fun and disturbing but not exactly Scary Kung Fu Peacock.

I unboobed the hem and it was OK.

Kung Fu Panda

That cat’s always gotta be involved.

Lord Shen

Here’s my best Queen Victoria in negative pose.

Lord Shen

Truth be told, I’d never even seen Kung Fu Panda 2 before this came up. But peacocks? I’d seen plenty of those at university and that’s not even a euphemism. Sounds idyllic right?The little entitled bastards would crap everywhere and screech throughout exams and lectures all day long.  I didn’t even need to watch the film to know they had a nasty streak.

Thank you Master Shifu for taking these photos.

About Vanessa

Sewing and assorted nonsense. For reasons that escape me, I left the sunshine and beaches of Australia for the crisps and glitter of London in 2001. I now live in the middle of some kind of feline drop-in centre in East London battling for space to make costumes and clothes. Over on twitter and instagram as @smittenness Email over here ------> smittenness@gmail.com
This entry was posted in Costumes, Sewing and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Sewing the Kung Fu Panda costumes. Lord Shen. Part 2 of 3.

  1. Nicoletta says:

    You’re hilarious!!! I think peacocks are nice, but they never impressed me that much. Now I know why :D! You are a master in costumes!!!

  2. CGCouture says:

    Your costume skills are enviable, I would have been at a complete loss as to what to do for both the peacock and the snake, but you pulled both off stunningly. 🙂

    Yes, peacocks are absolute dicks. “HE-ELP, HE-ELP, HE-ELP!” ALL NIGHT LONG. GRRR!! The people who lived next to my grandparents had some when I was a kid, and when we bought their house at auction, guess who inherited them? Gah! People paid outrageous amounts for the chicks though….

Leave a Reply

