The Knitting and Stitching Show.

This evening I went to the Knitting and Stitching show. I have to admit when I first heard about it last year I assumed it’d all be tea cosies and rocking chairs, it wasn’t. The skills of knitting or stitching are something that I appreciate but it was just three words Knitting and Stitching Show put together. It just seemed so plainly descriptive and functional. I’m going to have to kick myself now for not going last year because I just spent 4 hours there and was one of the last to leave. The level of skill and creativity in Alexandra Palace tonight was incredible. It was awesome.

Here are some of my absolute favourite pieces and exhibitions.

Black Sheep, the Darker Side of Felt.

You probably guessed, all of these pieces are made of felt.

So much drama and pageantry in these Horst Couture garments. It was a tough choice but that red one really got to me. I love the tendrils.

Beautiful and unsettling animal headdresses by Barbara Keal.

Barbara Keal IMG_7760

Bear Skulls by Stephanie Metz.

These were an interesting conflict and slightly disturbing. They read as teddy bear skulls rather than real bears and they’re even complete with teeth. There’s a piece you’re permitted to touch and I was surprised to find they were really hard. There’s a constant readjustment of expectation that I really enjoyed.

Alas poor Yorick….etc..

Seven Deadly Sins by Rachel Olin. Guess which one this is.

Rachel Olin

Silkfelt. 

More felt and lots of vagina. I’m big on vagina soft sculpture, I mean I have my very own and I’ll get it out at any opportunity, so this was a standout favourite.

I had a really fun chat to Yulia Badian and she told me a little about some of her techniques behind this magic. The interior texture of the pieces on the left (the mini minges?) was created from a mould of s starfish. A lot of the work in this exhibition is based on the sea and sex. The merkins on the right and middle had me in stitches with names like “wedding night skin” and “salmon sushi skin”. Just watching other people react to this art was an experience in itself. Go and say hello to Yulia, you can’t miss her. Bright pink hair and really welcoming.

Felt vagina. I keep think about the words. Felt. Unfelt….etc ….stop laughing at the back!

Moving on to wool.

Denise Salway knitted an amazing Lord of The Rings coat, complete with Peter Jackson figure and Golem detail. I had a chat with her briefly and she was loads of fun. A very talented and creative individual.

There was so much beautiful inspiring artwork there I could write reams. It was all so inspiring that I can barely sit still. I just want an excuse to start making something, something huge, something I can get stuck into and work on and be totally consumed by.

My photos don’t really do these works justice so if you’re thinking of going, just go. There’s lots to keep you entertained and the atmosphere is fantastic and welcoming.

IMG_7772

Thanks Knitting and Stitching Show, I loved it so much, I’m going back on Saturday.

I’ve tried to credit the work as carefully as possible and I asked permission to take photographs but if, for any reason, I’ve made an error, let me know, I’ll happily fix it or remove an image.

About Vanessa

Sewing and assorted nonsense. For reasons that escape me, I left the sunshine and beaches of Australia for the crisps and glitter of London in 2001. I now live in the middle of some kind of feline drop-in centre in East London battling for space to make costumes and clothes. Over on twitter and instagram as @smittenness Email over here ------> smittenness@gmail.com
This entry was posted in A bit of chat. and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Knitting and Stitching Show.

  1. I’m going on Sunday and I cannot wait. All of the photos I’ve seen over the last few days have whipped me up into frenzied excitement. I’m going with my mother-in-law and I don’t think she quite realises what she’s let herself in for.

Leave a Reply

