Sewing the Kung Fu Panda Costumes. And loving every minute of it.

Everybody was Kung Fu Panda fighting, sewing fast as lightning.

In fact, it was a little bit frightening….especially seeing this in the kitchen

Kung Fu Panda.Yes, my flat is a mess but who cares when there’s so much fun to be had with faux fur and feathers.

Kung Fu Panda Costumes

It’s been brought to my attention that many of my pictures feature a can of Polish lager. Bugger your Mood Sewing network, come on with the sponsorship already Polish beer people. And also Mood or Minerva. I’m not above free fabric….gift horse, mouth. Foot in mouth etc.

Jessica, who is behind Magical Quests themed parties and events, asked if I could make three costumes for the Kung Fu Panda event she was hosting and I was so grateful for the opportunity. I ended up making Master Shifu, he’s the red panda above on the right, Lord Shen the evil albino peacock and Snake, there’s Jessica below as Snake.

Kung Fu Panda Costumes

A regular Saturday night.

 

All in all, these costumes took 8 days, that covers conception, sourcing fabric and construction. In reality, three of those days were consumed by my day job, teaching English at a university, and it was the end of a course so when I say 8 days, I don’t really mean 8 days. This truly was a case of Get the Fuck On With It. I’ll detail them in later posts but for now enjoy these pics of the costumes, I really enjoyed making them.

Thanks to the investement from the Olympics, we live near a pagoda. Perfect for Kung Fu photo shoots.

Master Shifu. Kung Fu Panda costume

 

Lord Shen headdress and cape.

 

Lord Shen. Kung Fu Panda costume

 

Snake looking a bit cobra with that neck extension.

 

Snake. Kung Fu Panda costume

 

About Vanessa

Sewing and assorted nonsense. For reasons that escape me, I left the sunshine and beaches of Australia for the crisps and glitter of London in 2001. I now live in the middle of some kind of feline drop-in centre in East London battling for space to make costumes and clothes. Over on twitter and instagram as @smittenness Email over here ------> smittenness@gmail.com
This entry was posted in Costumes, Sewing and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Sewing the Kung Fu Panda Costumes. And loving every minute of it.

  1. rachsews says:

    I just want to come and play at your house. It always looks so much fun.

Leave a Reply

