Colette Hawthorn AKA Well, if everyone else is…..

A year or so ago you couldn’t move for Colette’s Hawthorn dress. I stubbornly refused to be drawn in and resisted the temptation to download it. But I eventually caved.

Colette Hawthorn

I’d done that thing where you get seduced by print in the fabric shop and before you know it you’ve taken a few metres home with no real plan for it other than look at it. So my fabric sat there getting stroked a few times but with no future. Enter Hawthorn.

Colette Hawthorn

 

I have to be honest and say that I had to make a load of adjustments to this pattern. The bust fit more or less OK but the back was huge, I had to mess about with the waist darts and ugh, the bust darts! Maybe I’m in denial about how shit my bras are or maybe I missed the part where my tits have migrated south * but, what the hell is up with Colette’s bust darts? The Sorbetto tops I’ve made had the same boob-strangling feature too.

*Disclaimer – I’m pretty sure they’re both where they should be.

I was a bit concerned the fabric combined with this kind of design would end up looking a bit twee but I think I managed to dodge that look. It definitely needs a belt though, possibly in a red or some other contrasting colour.

Final verdict. I like it and it’s nice to have something so traditionally feminine in my wardrobe. I’d make it again but in a block colour possibly even adding a short sleeve. I think I’m not used to having such full dresses but I’m happy for the change.

 

About Vanessa

Sewing and assorted nonsense. For reasons that escape me, I left the sunshine and beaches of Australia for the crisps and glitter of London in 2001. I now live in the middle of some kind of feline drop-in centre in East London battling for space to make costumes and clothes. Over on twitter and instagram as @smittenness Email over here ------> smittenness@gmail.com
This entry was posted in Sewing and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Colette Hawthorn AKA Well, if everyone else is…..

  1. Laura Patsko says:

    How cute is that! I love it! I want one!

  2. Lynne says:

    I love this dress! Hawthorn is indeed a lovely pattern, but I am so with you on the fitting issues. I had trouble with the back too, and also always find Colette Patterns bust darts are too high. So it’s not just you!

  3. ooobop! says:

    So pretty. Looks amazing on you. I’m one of those that until now has resisted. But I’m really tempted now. 🙂

  4. it’s so pretty. my usual response to needing to tweak patterns – there is never anything wrong with your body, it’s always the [pattern!

  5. Tiff says:

    Funny this, I recently just fell out of love with Hawthorn and it’s now in my ‘to sell’ basket! It’s just not my style anymore, plus now I know how to do real collars with collar stands, flat collars just don’t do it for me anymore! Weird how style changes.
    Yours looks really lovely though and I don’t think it’s too ‘twee’. I also had to make some wild adjustments to my pattern, mostly a really, really intense SBA.

Leave a Reply

