Simplicity 5399 Update

I hit a bit of a stumbling block with this Simplicity 5399 dress as I made the mistake of not having enough fabric, what an amateur!

Image

In my excitement to add sleeves I didn’t keep any fabric aside to line the bodice, which is too bad because the front bodice turns back to make the collar. I have no excuse other than being infected with a particular strain of “sewing joy”. You know the one, it finds you chucking instructions out the window and spontaneously changing details with little regard for consequences. Or how much fabric you actually have.

A bit of online research revealed a very similar fabric at MacCulloch and Wallis  but when I actually went in, the colours just weren’t quite right. Lovely fabric in there but no success this time.

I’m planning on making a shirt for Emil so made sure to send him pics of wildly inappropriate elephant-print fabric while I was there just to scare him.

"No elephants"

On a whim I went over to John Lewis. I’d never bought fabric in John Lewis before, I’m a bit too much in love with The Wimbledon Sewing Centre and all those great places on Goldhawk Road but the rain and the thought of facing Oxford Street drove me into the shop. Fortune must’ve been smiling – I certainly wasn’t smiling, I’d just been to the dentist- I found a perfect match as soon as I walked in. And, we all know, THIS NEVER HAPPENS.

I also spotted this incredibly meta-fabric. And, of course, bought the remaining 2 metres. So much for not buying any more fabric.

Back to the dress, the fabric has just been pre-washed and I’m willing it to dry quickly so I can get cutting and stitching.

Simplicity 5399

About Vanessa

Sewing and assorted nonsense. For reasons that escape me, I left the sunshine and beaches of Australia for the crisps and glitter of London in 2001. I now live in the middle of some kind of feline drop-in centre in East London battling for space to make costumes and clothes. Over on twitter and instagram as @smittenness Email over here ------> smittenness@gmail.com
This entry was posted in Sewing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Simplicity 5399 Update

  1. Leila says:

    Haha! I love the elephant print scare tactic. Very nicely played. And that meta fabric is awesome. Oh and you’re not alone. I get caught by the sewing bug and disregard all reason to just sew and then face consequences. I’m sure you’ll make it work beautifully!

  2. sewexhausted says:

    Pretty pink polka dot fabric! And I definitely get it. I have merrily continued sewing MY way and then hit a roadblock realizing I did something totally wrong and had to bring out The Seam Ripper. Sometimes instructions are necessary! ~Laurie

Leave a Reply

