Vogue 8411 Dress. Summer blues.

This is based on Vogue 8411 dress. I had a fairly wintery fabric in mind for this at first but somehow ended up with a version in this print.

Vogue 8411

I think a lot of the detail of the original is lost in the print, the pleats I painstakingly marked out are practically invisible but they are there! And they are very evenly-spaced! I’ll probably end up making this in a solid colour as the weather cools. But, for now, I’m enjoying being able to get the most out of my summer clothes.

Vogue 8411

Vogue 8411

The original design calls for these lovely bell-shaped sleeves, perhaps a light-weight knit. I’ll probably end up making this in a solid colour as the weather cools. But, for now, I’m enjoying being able to get the most out of my summer clothes and trying to spend as much time outside as possible. I appear to spend most of my time in the garden trying to harass the tomatoes into ripening faster.

Vogue Dress 8411I’m not exactly sure how this has happened but I seem to have my own little version of The Good Life going on, right here in the East End. Having a garden in London is such a treat and we’re lucky enough to have a lot of space (it makes up for a lot of other short-comings!) And I think  we’re getting the hang of this gardening thing now. There’s quite a lot of veg growing and we still have hundreds of sunflower seeds left behind by a fantastic neighbour (we miss Jason!).

There’s also a new neighbourhood kitten that has really taken to following our cats around, much to their annoyance.

All this gardening and cat-wrangling has meant less time to post but I’ve actually been sewing quite a lot. It’s just a matter of sitting down and getting the pics sorted. Eventually

I do love London in the sunshine. It’s beautiful. So, at the risk of sounding Northern-hemisphere-centric, how have you been enjoying your summer?

The Southbank

About Vanessa

Sewing and assorted nonsense. For reasons that escape me, I left the sunshine and beaches of Australia for the crisps and glitter of London in 2001. I now live in the middle of some kind of feline drop-in centre in East London battling for space to make costumes and clothes. Over on twitter and instagram as @smittenness Email over here ------> smittenness@gmail.com
Aside | This entry was posted in Sewing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Vogue 8411 Dress. Summer blues.

  1. I love how you’ve modernised the pattern and made it your own. You’re a girl with great vision! Basking in the sunshine… I’m very jealous! We’re planning an family trip to Europe and the UK next September. Can I order some sunshine for then?

  2. What a lovely summer dress! I want summer be much longer! There are so many fantastic dresses to wear/make!

Leave a Reply

