Jersey dress – because you can never have enough stripes in your wardrobe.

In one of my very first posts I wrote about the Drape Drape Asymmetrical top, I have a thing for black and white stripes and I had loads of fabric left over so I made this little number.

Jersey Dress I remember having a skirt on permanent loan from my little sister, she has always had great style, it was red and had a diagonal hem. This particular diagonal hem was just a happy accident that arose out of not having enough fabric leftover to get a horizontal line. I love it when accidental design happens (and it works!).I used this top as a basic guide for the bodice and just eyeballed the rest. That’s one of the beautiful things about jersey, it’s stretchy and forgiving. Also, very low-maintenance in terms washing and ironing (which I detest).

I often read about people not really enjoying working with jersey but I don’t see the problem myself. I never really have, truth be told. Am I missing something? It can roll a bit and you have to be careful not to pull it when sewing but, meh? Granted, finishing edges can be a bit time-consuming and fiddly if you do it as explained in the second part of this post but there’s always the option of leaving edges raw. As you can see, I left the hem raw and but I was especially pleased with the contrasting vertical-striped binding on the neckline and armholes.

Jersey Dress

 All in all, a quite wearable dress, super-practical and easy to make. All that, and I’m working through my fabric stash.

Jersey Dress

 

 

 

About Vanessa

Sewing and assorted nonsense. For reasons that escape me, I left the sunshine and beaches of Australia for the crisps and glitter of London in 2001. I now live in the middle of some kind of feline drop-in centre in East London battling for space to make costumes and clothes. Over on twitter and instagram as @smittenness Email over here ------> smittenness@gmail.com
This entry was posted in Sewing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Jersey dress – because you can never have enough stripes in your wardrobe.

  1. Gjeometry says:

    Very cute dress! Love the contrasting stripes sleeve binding. I just made the Cake patterns Cabarita top in jersey and it also has sleeve bindings, but I did not use contrast fabric, will next time though, I love the look.

  2. blaanca says:

    i love your dress! stripes forever 😉

  3. CherryPix says:

    Great ‘happy accident’ hem 🙂

Leave a Reply

