3-Seam Jungle Dress.

A very comfortable and, with only 3 seams a very easy-to-make dress.

It’s really just a rectangle, tapered a little at the waist and hem. There are two seams at the shoulders and, because it’s folded over at one side, there’s only one side seam. Super easy. Looks a bit shapeless without a belt but I didn’t want to mess with the design on the fabric.

For me, this dress is all about the print and is inspired by my parents and their kitschy take on home-decorating. When I was younger, my parents covered one of the walls in their living room in plant life themed wallpaper. I think my sister and I refered to it as a “jungle” and this fabric reminds me of that.

3 Seam DressYou have no idea how many nettles are just lurking in the background of this picture. Evil things. I can’t even THINK about going outside without getting stung by them. Stinging plants and harmless spiders? This country is doing things back-to-front.

Speaking of which, I cut the back neckline a little higher so I can wear it turn it round and get away with wearing it to work.

About Vanessa

Sewing and assorted nonsense. For reasons that escape me, I left the sunshine and beaches of Australia for the crisps and glitter of London in 2001. I now live in the middle of some kind of feline drop-in centre in East London battling for space to make costumes and clothes. Over on twitter and instagram as @smittenness Email over here ------> smittenness@gmail.com
This entry was posted in A bit of chat. and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to 3-Seam Jungle Dress.

  1. Fab dress. Sometimes the simple things are the best! I love how you made it work appropriate too. Very clever.

  2. Gjeometry says:

    Very cute dress! The fabric makes it so summer appropriate!

  3. Almond Rock says:

    Three seams!? Amazing. It looks the business 🙂

  4. Andrea says:

    Very nice! Did you draft it yourself? I love the fact that you made work for both work and play. 🙂

    • smittenness says:

      Yep, but I wouldn’t go so far as saying “draft”! Maybe, more “made it up as I went along” I folded the piece and then figured out armholes etc. Was going to put an elastic waist in but it felt like too much work ; )

  5. A perfect simple shape for gorgeous printed fabric, love the reference to your kitschy parents, mine were the same! 🙂 Also I’ll take harmless spiders any day thank you, I still shudder remember the big red back I saw in our gas meter box while living in Perth, eek!

    • smittenness says:

      I was very sad when my parents finally took that wallpaper down : ( I didn’t realise NZ had no deadly spiders until my friend told me (only yesterday) You can keep the wetas though!

  6. Great idea of making it to be able to wear back-front front-back 🙂

Leave a Reply

