Vintage Pattern Modification

I decided to dig out an long-forgotten vintage sewing pattern and get stuck into some sewing for summer. This one’s an old favourite, Style 1524 and look at the price! $1.60!

Image

This is yet another pattern I have “liberated” from my mum’s stash in Australia. Many, many years ago I discovered a glittery version of view 3 in mum’s wardrobe. It was brown, gold and red striped lamé and I loved it to pieces. It was my What Should I Wear, Oh That’s Perfect Top. The original pattern is super-easy to put together, just three pieces for the bodice, two for the arms. No fussy fastenings or zips, which is good since I have an intense hatred of zips.

As much as I like the original, I’ve decided to modify it a bit. I’m omitting the sleeves so it’s just a simple drawstring tank. And taking it it. And maybe putting bust darts in, possibly scooping the neckline out a bit too. Why I can’t just follow a pattern without messing with it, is anybody’s guess. Do other sewists do this too? Am I just indulging some kind of masochistic urge to punish myself?

To make my life more difficult, I’ve decided to use the thinnest, slippery-est fabric I own. It’s working out OK so far and for once I’ve actually made a muslin so I don’t have the horror of trying to unpick stitches from this fragile fabric.

Paisley silky loveliness (Wimbledon Sewing Centre)

Paisley silky loveliness (Wimbledon Sewing Centre)

I haven’t had much time to sew lately as we’ve had the landlord dropping by to fix various bits and pieces in the flat. This involves a lot of moving of books and furniture and cats so the place has been more chaotic than usual. I’m hoping to get this done by the middle of next week because May is fast approaching and I’m off to Italy for three weeks for work. When I get back work will really pick up speed so I have a feeling I’ll have a lot less time to sew.

About Vanessa

Sewing and assorted nonsense. For reasons that escape me, I left the sunshine and beaches of Australia for the crisps and glitter of London in 2001. I now live in the middle of some kind of feline drop-in centre in East London battling for space to make costumes and clothes. Over on twitter and instagram as @smittenness Email over here ------> smittenness@gmail.com
This entry was posted in Sewing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Vintage Pattern Modification

  1. cjgal says:

    Version 3 is so awesome! You could really play with embellishments on it, lace would be really pretty. Your paisley fabric looks perfect for it, looking forward to seeing your top 🙂

  2. Gjeometry says:

    Love your paisley! I think it would work well for this half librarian / half hippie pattern style. I am going to be starting the Sassy Librarian Blouse from Craftsy soon, and I also chose a paisley!

    • smittenness says:

      Just had a look on Craftsy, is it the knitted one? I have an account there but haven’t used craftsy much, any good?

      • Gjeometry says:

        No, you are supposed to use a thin cotton for it, like voile. It is specifically called “Sassy Librarian Blouse”. I also took the knits course, and it was also very good as well as a few mini courses showing you some sewing tips. I have not started this one yet, though, but it looks good.

  3. meggameuf says:

    Do you think everyone’s mum has got this pattern? I think I might have liberated this from my mum too! Can’t wait to see your version.

  4. smittenness says:

    You have this pattern too!? We must have fashionable mums

Leave a Reply

