Leopard. Five easy pieces.

A very simple five-piece leopard print top.

Leopard Print Top

Any print you like as long as it’s animal.

This fabric was leftover from a dress I’d made so I was pretty pleased I had enough to make this. I didn’t use a pattern for this, just traced around an existing t-shirt and tweaked it until it looked right. It’s basically five pieces plus sleeves – three at the front, with a keyhole secured by a button. The bias binding stabilised the neckline and, I hope, broke up the print a bit. And it’s probably one of the more practical things I’ve made.

Last time I wore it was to the Wildlife Photography Exhibition, which was ace, at the Natural History Museum. I love how the museum looks like the inside of a church, especially with Darwin looking down on it.

Although I drafted this pattern myself, I really rate the free Port Elizabeth. It sits kind of high but you can always lengthen it to suit. DIY Couture does a great variation on t-shirts with the Slouch Top too (see the second collection on the link).  If you choose to make this particular slouch top keep in mind it is super loose. I ended up cutting far too wide but, luckily, I managed to salvage it by making it into a dress. 

IMG_9663

 

 

About Vanessa

Sewing and assorted nonsense. For reasons that escape me, I left the sunshine and beaches of Australia for the crisps and glitter of London in 2001. I now live in the middle of some kind of feline drop-in centre in East London battling for space to make costumes and clothes. Over on twitter and instagram as @smittenness Email over here ------> smittenness@gmail.com
This entry was posted in A bit of chat., Sewing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Leopard. Five easy pieces.

  1. sewexhausted says:

    Too cute- I have some leftover animal print I want to make in to a top… May just draft a pattern myself! ~Laurie

  2. Gjeometry says:

    Love your top, and how great you drafted it yourself! I saw your blog over on Cherry pix’s blog and had to come over and say ‘hi’. Going to follow you to see what else you have to share. And, you kitty is adorable!!! My Kitty says ‘meow’.

  3. Pingback: London Sewing Supplies – fabric stores, notions, repairs. | Sew Smitten

  4. Pingback: Circle Skirt and Skater Dress love. | Sew Smitten

Leave a Reply

