Taking Liberties. One metre of Liberty Print x 2

What can I make with 1 metre of fabric? (Or a meter, or a yard and a bit)

You can guess how this story ends already.

You can guess how this story ends already.

A while ago I lost my head and wandered into Liberty’s of London. I told myself I’d just go in to “look at the Christmas decorations” but somehow I found myself on the 3rd floor.

Obviously, I made a detour into Womenswear to check out the Avante Garde collection and choke on the price of a goat skin dress but as soon as I’d recovered (800 quid!), I went up the stairs to look – just look at, no touching, none of that – the haberdashery. But, this being Soho, that veritable den of inequity, it wasn’t long before I had my grubby paws all over the stock.

Uh oh. I’d never entertained the idea of buying real Liberty prints. Most Tana Lawn retails at around £22 a metre /Width 140 (30% off during sales) and they’re lovely but working with such expensive fabric intimidates me and restricts my creativity. So I was happy just touching the stock, but not buying. No buying. Until I saw the remnants section.

Remnants are only available during sales. 1m @ £12.95. 3m @33.95 (approx)

Remnants are only available during sales. 1m @ £12.95. 3m @33.95 (approx)

These had been pretty well pawed over and were in complete disarray (the material, not these ladies) with 1 and 3 metre pieces jumbled up but that made it irresistible. All that colour and texture? I couldn’t help myself. And now I have these pieces of fabric.

Liberty Prints.

Liberty Prints.

They’re 1m by 1.5m and they’re so lovely, I could happily just frame them so I could look at them all day but I want something wearable. I’m looking at this as a challenge to myself. So far I’ve had the following ideas .

1. It has to be wearable. Clothing rather than accessories.

2. A top?  People (should) usually look up at your face so this’d showcase the print more effectively than shorts or a skirt. Maybe the Colette Sorbetto with a cap sleeve. I considered modifying the Burda bustier but it doesn’t allow for weight fluctuations. Bit ambitious and might disrupt the print too much but perhaps the top part of this Cynthia Rowley dress.

3. A skirt? You can wear the same skirt more frequently without looking like you’re in the same clothes. But it’d be short and would need lining (boring).

4. Something that isn’t restricted by seasons. That means short sleeves or something that can be layered. I have lots of summer stuff that’s just languishing in my drawer waiting in vain for a decent week of London sunshine.

5. A loophole for myself. If a metre isn’t enough, I’ll use the Liberty at the front and another piece at the back.

6. I’m planning on making something for my sister with one of them. (Hi sister, your birthday present is probably going to be late! x).

Every time I write Liberty Prints I keep thinking of Liberty Prince. Prince decked out in Liberty florals. Has this happened? Or a small floral Prince doll. If I have any scraps left over, I’m totally doing this.

7. The sound track to this project will be Prince. With this Jesus and Mary Chain cover of Alphabet Street thrown in every now and then but not the youtube version, terrible recording.

About Vanessa

Sewing and assorted nonsense. For reasons that escape me, I left the sunshine and beaches of Australia for the crisps and glitter of London in 2001. I now live in the middle of some kind of feline drop-in centre in East London battling for space to make costumes and clothes. Over on twitter and instagram as @smittenness Email over here ------> smittenness@gmail.com
This entry was posted in A bit of chat. and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Taking Liberties. One metre of Liberty Print x 2

  1. Luscious Liberty! I just cut out two Scout Woven Tees from 1.1m of Liberty. Maybe your cutting is more economical than mine? If you’d like sleeveless maybe a Tiny Pocket Tank (http://shop.grainlinestudio.com/product/tiny-pocket-tank) or a Sorbetto (free pattern – http://www.coletterie.com/colette-patterns-news/free-pattern-to-download-the-sorbetto-top). Good luck with your decisions.

  2. flossiejamieson says:

    Did you ever manage to overcome your preciousness about the fabric and make something or are you still thinking? I have about 1 and a half metres of vintage liberty from a skirt my mum made and I really want to do something good with it but I’m scared of ballsing it up!

    • smittenness says:

      Haven’t had the guts yet! A metre is a bit tricky to work with and I think I might use another fabric on the back. I don’t know why we let ourselves get intimidated by these bits of cloth!

  3. Amy Angerer says:

    My sister brought me back a meter from her recent London trip and I am in the same boat. What can I make? Did you ever decide?

Leave a Reply

