Drape Drape Cape (Fear)

Drap Drape Cape top

This will be just a quick post on this blasted top. I don’t deal well with instructions and prefer to just get on with things and see how they turn out. But, oh my days! Not since the Cynthia Rowley dress I made last year have I been so sweary at pieces of fabric.

It's lush.

It’s lush.

My Drape Drape cape turned out just fine. Much like the Cynthia Rowley dress. I’ll write about the CR turkey-print dress later. Yes, you read that right, turkey-print.

Rickety old dummy was very necessary in constructing this.

Rickety old dummy was very necessary in constructing this.

I decided against these buttons in the end and just stitched it closed. I’ll find the right buttons and sew them on later. I think this is necessary to break up that expanse on plain fabric down the middle. I could wear it as is but I don’t think I’m done with the detail yet.

Drape Drape cape

You’ll kindly ignore the fact that the damn cape ends at different points on the back. I’ll add an extra piece of fabric there to even it up. I’ll use the same colour as the buttons to break up the colour and for a bit of harmony.

So many pieces!!! 2 pieces for the cape, 8 for the bodice, 4 for the collar/facing, 2 side panels. And, like so much Ikea furniture, I have four small pieces labelled “facing” leftover. What are they for?? Maybe the whole thing will fall apart when I wear it out of the house, that’d make the tube journey to work interesting. I’m already planning the next version of this. It deserves elaborate, showy fabric, velvet, lamé, something extravagant and colourful. Something joyful and celebratory like Parliament Funkadelic’s “Do That Stuff”.

It fits really well, it’s very low-cut but I knew what I was getting into. I’ve spared you photos of me in this as I’ve been under the weather with a horrible sore throat. Felt better (than I looked) today so, much to my surprise, I managed to finish this off.

No sympathy from disapproval cat.

About Vanessa

Sewing and assorted nonsense. For reasons that escape me, I left the sunshine and beaches of Australia for the crisps and glitter of London in 2001. I now live in the middle of some kind of feline drop-in centre in East London battling for space to make costumes and clothes. Over on twitter and instagram as @smittenness Email over here ------> smittenness@gmail.com
This entry was posted in A bit of chat., Drape Drape, Sewing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

