Not a creature was stirring, not even this crocheted mouse

Especially not this particular mouse which I crocheted for my ungrateful, rotten cats.

I’m not sure what possessed me. They seem just as happy chasing imaginary bugs and playing complex feline mind games. Or (last week) peeing on E’s jeans. Bastards.

But, I guess I had a need to make something up quickly as I’ve been working on a Drape Drape Cape top (Book 1, no.2) for quite some time now. It has a number of pieces that involve a specific order of construction and I have very little patience for instructions. I find it easier to just get on with it. Needless to say, this is perhaps not the best approach.

But isn’t it lovely?

Drape Drape No. 2 Cape

Drape Drape No. 2 Cape

To fulfill this need for immediate gratification, I sat down on Christmas Eve and after a bit of trial and error, I ended up with this twine mouse.

Step 1. I chained 2, then 6 sc into second stitch from hook.

Step 2. After that, I crocheted a spiral and it basically descended into a freestyle/melee/anarchy of increasing rounds until it was wide enough and decreasing until it closed.

That first link uses a magic circle or, if you fancy, a “magic ring” ( tee hee, etc) Don’t judge me, I’m ill and this is as sophisticated as I can get at the moment.

Step 3. The tails is just a chain of 12 with a ss in each stitch up to the mouse body/bum. The ears are circles that follow Step 1. Attach the ears, bit of black cotton for the eyes, bit of leftover wool for the whiskers.

Not like the cats will even care! They’re all about the laser pointer and that all time favourite, “Bit of Sponge Tied to a Piece of String”

Bit of Skanky Sponge on a String.

Still, it kept me busy and Andrew seems to have added it to his collection of random things to chew on and maul.

And that’s good news for my hands and the mouse population of East London.

About Vanessa

Sewing and assorted nonsense. For reasons that escape me, I left the sunshine and beaches of Australia for the crisps and glitter of London in 2001. I now live in the middle of some kind of feline drop-in centre in East London battling for space to make costumes and clothes. Over on twitter and instagram as @smittenness Email over here ------> smittenness@gmail.com
This entry was posted in cats, Crochet, Patterns and Tutorials and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

