It takes all sorts. A dress of my own design.

This dress is my own design and for some reason I tend to wear it to work more than anywhere else. Not sure how that happened, I guess it has that work clothes taint now. Funny how work can taint certain items of clothing. Maybe that comes from having to wear a uniform throughout high school, I can safely say that my uniform managed to completely put me off wearing green for a good long while (the school called it teal but they weren’t fooling anyone). Green dress in summer, green blazer, red jumper, white shirt, grey skirt green and red tie in winter. Walking around like a gangly, awkward, grumpy, teenage Christmas tree all year round. In this dress, I’ve opted to walk round like a licorice all sort.

I'm still getting used to having my picture taken.

I’m still getting used to having my picture taken.

 

I bought loads of this pink and black material, enough to make up the Drape Drape Petal Skirt. It’s already cut out and ready to sew. The fabric is fairly thick ribbing that I found in the bargain section The Cloth Shop in Soho, only £2.99 a metre. Ah, the Cloth Shop, lovely fabric but often priced in a way to make me slightly intimidated. Didn’t see a bargain section last time I visited but I may have missed it because I was too busy fondling their bolts.

Moving on.

I designed this myself taking inspiration from this vintage dress pattern for the shape of the neckline and top part and the pleat detail on this Butterick dress. I added pockets at the seam to give the skirt more volume but mainly because I like having pockets. I also added gathered cap sleeves. I like to work directly on to my (rather battered and cheap) tailor’s dummy so the sleeves were just eye-balled and cut and sworn at and cut out again until it looked right. I didn’t bother hemming it (shh, no one can tell).

IMG_3800

It was great fun to make, I even got a front row seat at the never-ending East End Cat Turf Wars whilst I was sewing. Do you see what I have to put up with?

Jack menancing one of his many enemies "Grey Cat"

Jack menancing one of his many enemies “Grey Cat”

About Vanessa

Sewing and assorted nonsense. For reasons that escape me, I left the sunshine and beaches of Australia for the crisps and glitter of London in 2001. I now live in the middle of some kind of feline drop-in centre in East London battling for space to make costumes and clothes. Over on twitter and instagram as @smittenness Email over here ------> smittenness@gmail.com
This entry was posted in Sewing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to It takes all sorts. A dress of my own design.

  1. Great dress. You’re a very clever licorice all sort!

Leave a Reply

