Spinal Tap Head Wrap

 

Bit tricky to photograph this red. Better pics on their way.

My hair, when left to it’s own devices, goes up to 11. I’m talking BBC iplayer/Nigel Tufnel’s Marshall amp – up to 11. It’s big, it’s the hair equivalent of shoulder pads.

I regularly trek all the way to South London to get it cut because Sarah at WS is one of the few hairdressers who understands that “no, thank you, no extra volume” means no. Sarah, she’s great. Anyway, to cope with this chaos going on on my head I usually sit around the house in a head scarf like a 1950s housewife. But without the cleaning, cooking and cocktails for my man when he gets home from work.

The head scarf works a treat and saves on straightening and the inevitable burning myself that seems to follow. I wear it so often that the guys at the local off licence are surprised when I’m not wearing it. Actually, they’re surprised when I’m wearing anything that isn’t jeans and my boyfriend’s jumper.

My newly made Spinal Tap head wrap (yes, I’m aware how revolting that sounds) has a dual function. It keeps my head warm, AND flattens down my hair. In fact, it’s multi-functional. I can wear it under my hooded parka without driving myself mad and, because it’s basically just one long rectangle, I can wear it as a mini-scarf/neck wrap.

And it looks a bit like two snakes who’ve fallen out with each other.

I crocheted a rectangle long enough to wrap round my head plus a little extra to make the knot. I then tied it round my head and figured out where I wanted it held down – this was not an exact science – after that I just stitched on four buttons. No need for button holes as you can just put them in any hole (ahem) between stitches. There’s enough stretch in it to allow for loose or tight knots at the front. Or, I suppose I could wear it with the knot at the back of my head. It’ll probably end up looking different every time I wear it. Whatever, as long as I’m creating rather than consuming.

IMG_8602

It’s dead easy. I’ll post the pattern in a separate post (hopefully) after this one but it’s mostly double-crochet – doubles at the ends for about five rows, then behind the post, in front of the post in the middle til it’s long enough and a three chain pattern to edge it. I kind of made it up as I went along.

IMG_8607

Did I mention it’s dead easy? Easier than you may think. There’s no mystery to this, it’s just trial and a lot of error and a few buttons. Just make sure the buttons are small enough and the cats are out of the way.

Jack can’t help himself around a camera.

I’ve been looking at some amazing crocheted turbans from the 40s and thinking I want more height, more impossible angles and beautiful knots.

About Vanessa

Sewing and assorted nonsense. For reasons that escape me, I left the sunshine and beaches of Australia for the crisps and glitter of London in 2001. I now live in the middle of some kind of feline drop-in centre in East London battling for space to make costumes and clothes. Over on twitter and instagram as @smittenness Email over here ------> smittenness@gmail.com
This entry was posted in A bit of chat., Crochet and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

