Yes Cinderella, you shall go to the Sink the Pink Summer Ball. And I’m confident you’ll look fantastic.

I am lucky enough to be working for the wonderful people at Sink the Pink London making costumes for the inaugural Summer Ball. It’s only the official launch of Pride Week in London, it’s only a 3,000-person venue. They’ve only gone and got the Venga Boys and Kiesza to perform.

It’s very, very exciting.

No doubt, I’ve been unfollowable on twitter lately as I’ve been posting out of context photos of various pieces I’ve made and, as I’ve pretty much been sewing all day and night, I’m pretty sure I’ve almost lost the ability to converse. It’s an absolute blast though and I haven’t had this much fun in ages. I don’t want to reveal too much but here are some of the things I’ve been swearing at lately. Keep in mind these are all going to be worn by some beautiful dancers who make these things look better than I hoped. (Thank you Joe, Kiera, Chester, Ted, Raven and Jess)

Lots of handsewn detail because I have delusions of being couture (and, apparently, I am a masochist).

Headpieces.

Image

I made this around 1:30 this morning. It made sense at the time.

 

Image

I’m trying to use every scrap of fabric I have. Not least because I need to clear some space in my flat!

Bringing out the big guns for this one.

Bringing out the big guns for this one.

 Capes

Image

Curse you, sequins!

 

Some of the other capes are in the previous post but at last count, I’ve made about 8.

Other bits of fabulous.

"No, I'm Sparkle Tits!" Ben Hur, the sequin-remake.

“No, I’m Sparkle Tits!”
Ben Hur, the sequin-remake.

I actually really like how this looks like a pair of lips here. Luckily this is stretch sequin, cross stitched so no unravelling. A bit of a bitch to use in the machine but I found a way round that.

Disco Car Wash

Disco Car Wash

 

The colour has come out terrible here but you get the idea. Ribbon outfit, arm pieces (ala Randy Savage as someone on twitter pointed out), head piece. You may also notice my McGyver skills with fashioning an arm out of two wooden spoons and a coat hanger.

There are five days til the show and 4 days til dress rehearsal. About two weeks ago, I was ready to chuck everything onto a bonfire (it’d be a pretty quick bonfire since most of these costumes are made of flammable). It was the “OH GOD, IT’S ALL FUCKING TERRIBLE!” stage, which usually hits at the half way point. After going to a rehearsal and watching the dancers in some of the pieces, I felt so much better. I was so excited I probably could’ve cried. But this is no time for crying, I still need to carve up and cover a load of foam pieces, take things in, let things out, glue things on, etc, etc, etc…

Disco Laundry.

Disco Laundry.

 

It’s all very, very blindingly sparkly and everywhere I turn I find an errant pin or sequin. But the best bit of sparkle happened on my birthday.

 

And I’m not talking about my nail polish ; )

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

About smittenness

Sewing and assorted nonsense. For reasons that escape me, I left the sunshine and beaches of Australia for the crisps and glitter of London 12 years ago. I now live in the middle of some kind of feline drop-in centre in the East London. I was lucky enough to learn from two talented and creative women, my mum and my nonna Mieta. Mostly I sew for the sheer love of making things. And I don't think I can stop. Email over here ------> smittenness@gmail.com
This entry was posted in Sewing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Yes Cinderella, you shall go to the Sink the Pink Summer Ball. And I’m confident you’ll look fantastic.

  1. gaye says:

    Congratulations on the sparkle! And the rest of the sparkly bits look fabulous too.

  2. nishi says:

    Congratulations!! That’s a very large piece of sparkle! I love seeing your photos of these costumes, but “Disco Laundry” truly made me want to live next door to you! Good luck with the final stretch – you can do it!

  3. Congratulations! :-)

Leave a Reply

