Half Circle Skirt and The Goldilocks Waistband.

Circle skirts, half-circle skirts, quarter-circle skirts, any fraction you like, I love sewing ‘em.

Self-drafted Half Circle Skirt.

Truth be told, I probably love sewing them a tiny bit more than I love wearing them. No need for a pattern, no need to mess about with the tracing and the cutting and all the accompanying nonsense. None of that, it’s just a matter of shifting some furniture to get the floor space and a bit of maths. And, of course, convincing the ever-present cats to take their laser beam eyes outside and leave me alone for 5 minutes.

RocknRoll and his laser-beam kitty hypnosis skills.

Dammit RocknRoll, it’s NOT FOR CATS.

I like my circle skirts the way I don’t like my pints. Halves if we’re talking skirts, full if you’re heading to the bar, thanks. Packet of crisps while you’re there and better order a safety pint* just in case, you know how busy the Fitzroy can get.

Half Circle Skirt

Half Circle Skirt

But enough about pubs, let’s get back to the skirt. Compared to a full circle skirt, the half circle is a lot less likely to get all Carry On on you at the first sign of a breeze and flash your pants to the world. This was a really fun skirt to make, I think it was cut and made in about two lazy evenings. The only drama I had in drafting it was that I cut the waist too small, then I cut it too big but finally it was juuuuuuust right. Unlike porridge, which is always wrong and never, ever right.

It looked kind of like a dunce's cap mocking me for my under/overestimating.

It looked kind of like a dunce’s cap mocking me for my under/overestimating.

I made this particular skirt from fabric Rosie, aka DIY Couture, was giving away. It’s crepe (I think) and such a brilliant colour. I’m really into the idea of fabric swapping, at some point this summer I’d like to organise some kind of meet-up/fabric swap. Early stages but, the idea’s planted itself in my brain and I’ll see how it works out.

Half Circle Skirt

Half Circle Skirt

*safety pint –  that extra pint you order in a round “just in case” (as introduced to me by friends in 2007. Hi Jo!)

About smittenness

Sewing and assorted nonsense. For reasons that escape me, I left the sunshine and beaches of Australia for the crisps and glitter of London 12 years ago. I now live in the middle of some kind of feline drop-in centre in the East London. I was lucky enough to learn from two talented and creative women, my mum and my nonna Mieta. Mostly I sew for the sheer love of making things. And I don't think I can stop. Email over here ------> smittenness@gmail.com
This entry was posted in Sewing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Half Circle Skirt and The Goldilocks Waistband.

  1. Zoe says:

    Cute skirt, I love the colour of it! My cat is exactly the same if lay any fabric out on the ground, if I leave it for 10 seconds, she will have curled up on it.

  2. Fitzroy on Charlotte st or is there another one? Right by my work if so! Pint? And lovely skirt!

  3. ksgentry says:

    What a simple quick skirt! Love it and the color too. My kitties are the same way, with every piece of fabric that is laid out there is a kitty there to add their own form of texture to it, but what is a garment without a cat hair or two. Great job!

  4. Nissa Ramsay says:

    Hey, great make and use of Rosie’s fabric- I’d love another fabric swap meet up. I’ve been doing exactly the same this week, but attached a half circle it to a dress (and had to recut as I got the waist size out). Loving the purple colour -win all round!

  5. nishi says:

    Oh! I love the Fitzroy! I went to uni just around the corner and we always used to go there (& fight for places at the bar…)! So many good pubs around in Bloomsbury/Soho!

    I love the skirt! Such a beautiful colour and so swishy (but not so swishy it’ll jump up around your ears)!

    • smittenness says:

      Thanks, if only the weather would allow me to wear the damn skirt! It’s a very fun pub. And it’s a Sam Smith’s, so a bit easier on the bank balance!

Leave a Reply

