New Look 6429 faux wrap dress

New Look 6429 Dress. I make this look good. Really, you should see how they’ve styled it on the pattern envelope. I’ve got one foot in the drain outside my flat and it still looks better than the image they’ve put together. Faux wrap dress, to go with my faux boasting. Faux boasting and showboating. 

So blah on the envelope but such a versatile dress. How can you use such a lovely model, nice enough fabric and just end up with frump? Don’t judge a book (or something) by its cover.

My very talented and generous friend, Fleur, over at Love Me Do, had won a competition and used it to gift me this lovely printed jersey all the way from the Netherlands. Excellent choice of colour, it reminds me of animal print and it’s kicked off a new found love of blue and green. It took me a while but I finally settled on using it to make the New Look 6429 dress. I’d had the pattern for ages, years in fact, but I’m really pleased with how it works with the cloth.

It’s rated “easy” and it was pretty straightforward to put together. The only time -consuming bit was attaching the binding round the neckline and armholes. I had to reduce the fullness of the skirt as I had a limited amount of fabric but that was an improvement. The bodice follows a princess line cut but it gets a bit lost in the print I’ve used. I might make this again but using contrasting colours on the bodice to highlight the cut.

DSC_0358

The cut at the back is lovely but, again, it’s lost in the cloth and the colours. This is the point where the bodice joins the skirt.

RocknRoll Cat couldn’t resist the opportunity to photobomb me yet again. Blurry, furry little rascal.

New Look 6429

About smittenness

Sewing and assorted nonsense. For reasons that escape me, I left the sunshine and beaches of Australia for the crisps and glitter of London 12 years ago. I now live in the middle of some kind of feline drop-in centre in the East London. I was lucky enough to learn from two talented and creative women, my mum and my nonna Mieta. Mostly I sew for the sheer love of making things. And I don't think I can stop. Email over here ------> smittenness@gmail.com
This entry was posted in Sewing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to New Look 6429 faux wrap dress

  1. Sasha says:

    You do make it look good !

  2. Laura Patsko says:

    Looks gorgeous! One day you’re gonna have to teach me how to do all this… I’ve already mastered buttons! I can do anything!

  3. smittenness says:

    Definitely Laura. Any excuse to hang out but only if you reach me the secrets of pumpkin pie!

  4. smittenness says:

    *teach* not reach. That sounds weird.

  5. macinic says:

    Lovely! and gorgeous fabric – huge thank you to Fleur! I vote for another version with colour blocking or plains – sounds delightful, there are some nice lines there ;)

  6. ksgentry says:

    Perhaps ‘New Look’ could learn a thing or two from you. I don’t think I would have chosen this pattern based on the front cover but after seeing your version I am going to add it too my ever growing collection. Looks great on you and love that fabric. Definitely a winner.

  7. ellebougies says:

    Oh, hello! This sure looks good on you!

  8. Nicole May says:

    Gorgeous! The fabric is divine, and I love the style.

Leave a Reply

