Last-Minute, Fake Fur Shrug for New Year’s Eve.

Around 4pm on New Year’s Eve I posted this tweet.

But hey, who am I to give to advice? Or listen to it? At the same time? I can’t be doing all that multi-tasking when I’m trying to sew, dammit. Around 7pm that same evening I sent this liver-damaged-hued pic to my boyfriend. He’s great, the only thing not so great is that he’s working in Saudi Arabia for AN ENTIRE YEAR. Sigh. But at least I finally get to live out my dream of being that woman who lives with all the cats. Lower case “yay”.

IMG_3291

If you’ll stop looking down my dress, you’ll notice the little fake fur shrug I made. I’ve never used fake fur before but I got it in my head that I wanted something to wear that would keep me warm (ish) and wasn’t a cardigan. 

DSC_0308

Making this was easier than I thought. I took an existing garment, put it on to the fabric and cut. It was only three pieces and having an overlocker/serger made the whole process a lot quicker. It also means the seams inside are raw but, you know what? I don’t care! I was on a very strict time constraint, besides I can always fix it later. But I won’t : )

ROOOAARR SEAMS! Raaaw!? No?  Moving on…..

DSC_0299

Of course I had  few issues making this. In my haste managed to cut two left front pieces rather than one left and one right, I had a swear, had a vodka and ginger ale and got over it. The worst thing was the mess, fur everywhere! Have another vodka, don’t look at the floor, worry about it later, to quote my mother  “it’s not going anywhere”.

DSC_0294

Gillian from Crafting a Rainbow wrote a post a while back about Evolving Personal Style and it really struck a chord. I tend to get so seduced by fabric and colour and texture that I end up with lots of fabric and often lose sight of what it is I want to make. I’m getting a lot better at this though and this top, as simple as it is, is something that I will wear and wear again. It’s the sort of garment that fits in with the silhouette I like.

DSC_0306

Had a bit of an audience while taking these photos. Tinkle Tits, the furry little freak, was sitting on the fence above my head. Bit disconcerting. And he’s not even my cat!

IMG_3514[1]

Fabric from Mermaid Fabrics, in Hackney. Surprising little shop, loads of stuff, great staff, cash only but there’s a cash point nearby.

About smittenness

Sewing and assorted nonsense. For reasons that escape me, I left the sunshine and beaches of Australia for the crisps and glitter of London 12 years ago. I now live in the middle of some kind of feline drop-in centre in the East London. I was lucky enough to learn from two talented and creative women, my mum and my nonna Mieta. Mostly I sew for the sheer love of making things. And I don't think I can stop. Email over here ------> smittenness@gmail.com
This entry was posted in cats, Sewing and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Last-Minute, Fake Fur Shrug for New Year’s Eve.

  1. Laura Patsko says:

    OK, I know this is besides the point of this post, but I just had to comment on two things:

    1. I love your hair like that! Pinned back, I mean; very pretty.
    2. Tinkle tits?! This a new feline neighbour I haven’t heard about??

    Lovely shrug, by the way. :)

    • smittenness says:

      Thanks Laura, my hair needs to be really short or at least this length or I get enraged with it every morning. Tinkle Tits (named by Emil) has been around for about 6 months, very sweet, often runs into our flat “Get Tinkle Tits out of RocknRoll’s bowl!” there’s a sentence.

  2. kate0795 says:

    I love it!!! Maybe we were making fluff n fur the same Christmas night??! I’m well known for last minute makes…for a birthday present hot off the press, when I supposed to be there giving it to them…like the birthday card envelope still wet with lickety spit!! I adore the fur you used…I love my sequin shrug of which I have just the one but wear through summer..I really should find a pattern because I can’t cut it up…you’ve inspired me! Look forward to seeing more! Kate x

  3. Gjeometry says:

    Very cute! And, kitty looks like he’s wondering why you all of a sudden sprouted fur.

Leave a Reply

