Remnant Sparkles via Vogue 8411

Picked up this fabric from Cloth House on a whim and ended up making this little number.

Vogue 8411

“What sort of fabric is it Vanessa?” Baby, it’s cheap, sparkly and holds together in a crisis. And you can see straight through it. Much like me (cough).

DSC_0294

OK, I’m being facetious. I honestly have no idea what this fabric is. It’s got wicked stretch, doesn’t need hemming and makes me feel happy. Is it lamé? Probably.

Vogue 8411

I used Vogue 8411 to make this but I think it was unnecessary. All that fussing round with pleats at the yoke line, was it worth it? Meh, not sure but I think it adds something to the way it falls.

Vogue 8411

Does it work better with a belt? The jury’s out.

Vogue 8411

I’ve made this pattern before in a gorgeous printed cotton but I’m still unsure about it. Perhaps my fabric choices have been wrong for this design, or maybe I just don’t like the extra bulk around the bust. (Ew, “bust” sounds so squeamish. I only ever say bust when I’m sewing. It’s a measurement, not a body part.)

About smittenness

Sewing and assorted nonsense. For reasons that escape me, I left the sunshine and beaches of Australia for the crisps and glitter of London 12 years ago. I now live in the middle of some kind of feline drop-in centre in the East London. I was lucky enough to learn from two talented and creative women, my mum and my nonna Mieta. Mostly I sew for the sheer love of making things. And I don't think I can stop. Email over here ------> smittenness@gmail.com
This entry was posted in Sewing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Remnant Sparkles via Vogue 8411

  1. cathynd95 says:

    I like it with the belt.

  2. Gjeometry says:

    Adorable, I love it! I do like it with the belt, but also without. It’s got a very schoolgirl jumper look to it.

  3. Santa says:

    Very cute! I prefer it without the belt though. :)

Leave a Reply

