A very hot cowl skirt I drafted, sewed and fell in love with.

I went and drafted a cowl skirt and I sewed it. Then I put it on, took it back off, took it in, switched it round a bit to account for the stretch, put it back on and I love it. So much so that I wore it to work, then dinner, then a gig. And I’m happy to report it was in much better shape than I was this morning.

Cowl SkirtActually, I lie. I didn’t really feel that bad at all. In fact, I’m willing to bet I was the most clear-headed person on the night bus home from the West End last night. Yeah. That’s always fun. . .remind me to do THAT again on the most booziest pre-Christmas night of the year.

Cowl Skirt

I have a major design crush on cowls and draping. Especially on the lower body. On clothes. Draping and mismatched lines, more of that please.

The inspiration for this skirt was this Drape Drape dress. I think my love for the Drape Drape Books is pretty obvious. Look at that extreme side drape, brilliant. You’re genius Hisako Sato.

DSC_0480

I’ve also been watching an awful lot of Rupaul’s Drag Race and, on top of having a thing for the beautiful Nina Flowers, I also have an unhealthy obsession with this red dress with draped side skirt (1) So, so lovely. So much drama in what is really a pretty straightforward design feature.

After fan-girling over side drape skirts and poring over any images I could find, I finally sat down in front of season 3 of RuPaul, opened up good old Metric Pattern Cutting and drafted my own skirt. It was all very painless. The short version? To make this skirt, I used my basic straight skirt block, measured, cut, spread and traced.  I added 2 pleats on the front and an covered elastic waistband and I was done.

The long version? I’ll post that next.

DSC_0223

(1) Image available at http://popwatch.ew.com/2010/02/02/rupauls-drag-race-recap-week-1/   2010 accessed Dec 2013

About smittenness

Sewing and assorted nonsense. For reasons that escape me, I left the sunshine and beaches of Australia for the crisps and glitter of London 12 years ago. I now live in the middle of some kind of feline drop-in centre in the East London. I was lucky enough to learn from two talented and creative women, my mum and my nonna Mieta. Mostly I sew for the sheer love of making things. And I don't think I can stop. Email over here ------> smittenness@gmail.com
This entry was posted in A bit of chat. and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to A very hot cowl skirt I drafted, sewed and fell in love with.

  1. Gjeometry says:

    Ah!!! There is the skirt in all its glory! I love this skirt. I am also a big fan of cowls at the neck or any kind of creative draping like this. Great job drafting it.

Leave a Reply

