Cynthia Rowley 2406 Modification

A few years ago you could barely move for people making the Cynthia Rowley 2406 dress.

Image

A lovely dress. I love the slits in the sleeves and having a raglan cut makes it a bit less dressy and something I’d get a lot of wear out of. Unfortunately, my one and only attempt at it a few years ago involved the very wrong fabric. I was really quite annoyed with myself, especially since I’d worked so hard to figure out the hieroglyphics involved in making those damn sleeves.  In the end, I put it away and tried not to think about it.

I guess I must have a short memory because I came back to it and made this.

Cynthia Rowley 2406

It’s basically the Cynthia Rowley modified into a top, the bottom hem is just elastic in a casing.

Cynthia Rowley 2406

Rare photograph of Andrew not in biting mode.

Despite the bra-flashiness of the back vent, I kept it true to the design. I even self-faced the sleeves – I know, why bother facing jersey? – To preserve a bit of mystery, I usually wear a bandeau under this, or pin it with a Spacewasters badge.

I haven’t been posting much lately and that’s because I haven’t actually been sewing a lot. My boyfriend has just started a year long contract in Saudi Arabia so the last month has been all about getting prepared for that. It’s only been a week since he left and I already miss him terribly.

But I guess I get to play at being crazy cat lady for a year and I’m consoling myself with uplifting songs about missing people.

 

About smittenness

Sewing and assorted nonsense. For reasons that escape me, I left the sunshine and beaches of Australia for the crisps and glitter of London 12 years ago. I now live in the middle of some kind of feline drop-in centre in the East London. I was lucky enough to learn from two talented and creative women, my mum and my nonna Mieta. Mostly I sew for the sheer love of making things. And I don't think I can stop. Email over here ------> smittenness@gmail.com
This entry was posted in Sewing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Cynthia Rowley 2406 Modification

  1. That’s a nice way to make use of a dress pattern! Looks like a fun top to wear with jeans.

  2. Leila says:

    very cool mod and I like your pictures. cool map.

  3. nishi says:

    Cool top! The fabric works really well with it! And I love your hairband! I think I’m going to make one just like it now! Thank you for the inspiration!

  4. Gjeometry says:

    I think the top looks great! Love the slit sleeves and I think you’ll likely get more wear out of this as a top rather than a dress.

Leave a Reply

