Cape from Drape Drape No. 2 – If I knew you were coming, I’d have made a cape.

I finally got round to taking photos of the Drape Drape No. 2 Cape which I made waaaay back in December.

Drape Drape No.2 Cape

Some are doubled up but that’s 14 pieces of fabric right there.

It was a bit of a puzzle to put together but the whole process was full of those “oh, so THAT’S how it works” moments and a really good challenge. The actual cape part is really just a extended flutter sleeve – that large semi-circle (above right) is one side/sleeve. The rectangular piece is one part of the centre front. The left pic shows  all parts of the bodice.

Drape Drape No 2 CapeI thought the cape would be restricting but it isn’t at all and it’s really comfortable and cosy to wear. Plus, you can pretend to be a bat. Or something.

Drape Drape No. 2 CapeI had to hastily hand stitch the centre front up a good 15cms more than suggested as it was gaping and I didn’t like the way it confused the line. A gaping top meant a right-side up triangle (the cape) and an inverted triangle (the neckline) in the design and it was too much.

Drape Drape No. 2 CapeThose gathered parts on the side are one of my favourite things about this pattern. They look like pockets, and probably could be modified, but they’re just a design feature. Quite flattering and really finishes the design.

Which leads us to the question of where to carry your bag when wearing this. Under the cape and fussing with the bits all the time? Over the cape and ruin the design?

I think the answer might be a smaller bag or, even better, less stuff and more pockets. RocknRoll cat seemed to agree.

Drape Drape No.2 Cape

This was just a muslin but I’m pleased it worked out and I can actually wear it out. In fact, I had a couple of compliments when I wore it out last Friday. I think the next time, I’ll use a heavier fabric, perhaps in check but definitely in purple, maybe with a contrasting lining. I love the idea of swishing around London in something wonderful, what a great way to brighten up the drizzling, rainy weather.

I haven’t seen many of these on the internet but The talented Sew Convert has a beautiful version (as well as many other gorgeous clothes).

About smittenness

Sewing and assorted nonsense. For reasons that escape me, I left the sunshine and beaches of Australia for the crisps and glitter of London 12 years ago. I now live in the middle of some kind of feline drop-in centre in the East London. I was lucky enough to learn from two talented and creative women, my mum and my nonna Mieta. Mostly I sew for the sheer love of making things. And I don't think I can stop. Email over here ------> smittenness@gmail.com
This entry was posted in Drape Drape, Sewing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Cape from Drape Drape No. 2 – If I knew you were coming, I’d have made a cape.

  1. laurapatsko says:

    I really love this top, Vanessa! And Rocknroll is a lovely addition to the ensemble.

    • smittenness says:

      Thanks Laura, that bloody cat is always in the pics! It was a good spatial skills workout. I really thought it’d look a bit too extreme for everyday but it’s quite versatile.

  2. Wow! It is really fantastic!

  3. Oooh nice. Your version looks better than the one in the book-the original felt a bit low cut to me (as do a lot of the other garments in those book). ALso-re bags and what to do with them when wearing a cape: this is the exact reason I haven’t made one yet.. XD

    • smittenness says:

      Thanks. You’re right about the necklines in those designs. I made the all-in-one and I was practically naked from the side. Will eventually re-work it but with heavy modifications.

  4. Awesome cape Vanessa. I have lots of Japanese patterns marked to sew when I get back to some selfish sewing. I’m currently recovering from a bad bout of flu – hideous!

  5. Pella says:

    Nice! I may try this.

  6. ooobop! says:

    Such a cool design. You did an amazing job. And don’t you just love it when muslins turn out so good! :-)

  7. ksgentry says:

    What a great top! The sleeveless for those warmer fall days but the cape helps to keep off the chill of those cool fall nights! I love it and it looks great on you! And I see that your kitty, RockNRoll, makes sure he gets his picture taken too!

  8. Love this! And any top that allows you to pretend to be a bat has got to be worth making.

  9. Lovely top. I have great intentions of making things from the japanese pattern books but never seem to get round to it. Well done on your garment – I particularly like being able to ‘make like a bat’ with it.
    I have no answer to the bag dilemma – stuff your pockets?
    Thanks for stopping by and following my blog :)

Leave a Reply

