Circle Skirt and Skater Dress love.

This is my new favourite dress. I drafted it myself and managed to use up some of my fabric stash too, not bad for a Friday night in.

Self-drafted skater dressI’d been working on various complicated things using Metric Pattern Cutting and had really annoyed myself so I stepped away and went back to my old favourite medium – jersey.

Self-drafted skater dressThe fabric from this dress is actually salvaged from a Drape Drape top I had made months ago but ended up hating. After putting it on, it just didn’t do it for me so, one evening, I recycled it. (this is the pic in the book, really lovely but I wasn’t feeling it)

Drape Drape book 1 No. 12

Constructing a circle skirt is dead easy. And, personally, I think making a skater dress (that’s a fitted bodice attached to a circle skirt) is even easier, especially in a stretch fabric. I can’t believe I haven’t made these before, perhaps I had convinced myself they didn’t suit me, they do kind of showcase my boobs but, meh? That’s genetics and I’m grateful for that.

To create the bodice, I just used another dress as a guide. Using something that fits fairly close but not tight and has wide shoulder straps makes it easier if you want to change the width of the straps or take it in later. Just keep in mind the amount of stretch in the fabric you intend to work with and the fabric your your guide garment is made of.

I salvaged this particular fabric from another project so I didn’t have a nice plain piece to work with. All I did was pull the original top apart and then cut and overlock pieces together. In fact, I don’t think I actually knew what I was attempting to make at this stage, I just wanted a bigger piece of fabric to play with. I should have changed the thread colour on my over locker but I was so “in the zone” I didn’t want to stop and ruin my focus. I think the contrasting thread shows clearly how I put the skirt together Frankenstein-style. If you’re going to do this, just make sure the stretch runs the same direction in each piece.

I thought it needed something to lift it so used a contrasting leopard print binding. Just couldn’t help myself. Luckily I had some left over from my top. 

The best thing about circle skirts? They’re really twirly. I’m talking knicker-flashingly twirly, these are the edited photos,  the others seem to be all about my (leopard print) pants.

I’m going to have to be careful going up the escalators on the tube, some are very windy and have that Seven Year Itch hazard.

RocknRoll Cat found the whole process photo-bomb worthy and hilarious.

And then found something to be grumpy about.

I enjoyed making this dress so much, I started another two! A how to make a circle skirt and skater dress tutorial coming soon ; )

About smittenness

Sewing and assorted nonsense. For reasons that escape me, I left the sunshine and beaches of Australia for the crisps and glitter of London 12 years ago. I now live in the middle of some kind of feline drop-in centre in the East London. I was lucky enough to learn from two talented and creative women, my mum and my nonna Mieta. Mostly I sew for the sheer love of making things. And I don't think I can stop. Email over here ------> smittenness@gmail.com
This entry was posted in Sewing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Circle Skirt and Skater Dress love.

  1. Loving the dress, the recycling of fabric, the action shots and the fact that I’m not the only one who gets a little lazy with changing the thread in her overlocker!

  2. smittenness says:

    I used to be really fussy about this and then realised it was one of the things slowing down the sewing process. If I were making something more “fancy”, I’d be fairly strict about this but sometimes it’s more about the process.

  3. Pella says:

    Pretty colour! There’s something unbeatable about circle skirts isn’t there?

  4. Gjeometry says:

    Ha haaaa, Rock and Roll cat KILLS me!! Happy—–Grumpy in 3 seconds flat. Your dress is beautiful! I just love how you pieced together the skirt. It really makes it look like a work of art, with all that seaming, I love it.

  5. prttynpnk says:

    I love how you did this!!!!! It’s gorgeous.

  6. Amy says:

    I love how resourceful you were getting the pieces together. It’s a great little dress. I’ve got one lined up myself but need to get over the fact I can’t afford a new serger. I love your cat too. Squeal look at his little grumpy face!

  7. ksgentry says:

    What a great way to change what you don’t like into what you do like! RocknRoll Cat seems to like it too, at least for a split second. Great job! It looks great on you!

  8. Micky says:

    Hi – love the dress, did you ever do a tutorial, i can’t work out how to make the circle dress, even though you said how easy it was!!!!
    Thanks, Micky x

Leave a Reply

