Self-drafted, Three-way, Reversible Dress.

Finally, my self-drafted, three-way, reversible dress is complete!

Tuck the pockets in.

Tuck the pockets in.

It’s a reversible, it’s a three-way, it’s a self-drafted….dress. And it’s nowhere near as kinky as it sounds. I posted a pic of this when it was still a work in progress and now that it’s done, I’m really pleased with it. I had been looking at this dress made by a Burdastyle member and this lovely piece on youtube but I knew I would get a bit lost in the volume of fabric in these two frocks. I messed about with the design and ended up with this basic shape.

This will give you an idea of the shape.

This will give you an idea of the shape.

But I probably wouldn’t go about wearing it like that, like some kind of forlorn sugar-glider that’s ended up in the East End. I’d probably wear it like this…..

Variation 1. Stick a belt on it to give it a bit of shape (left).

Variation 2. Or leave it loose (right). Yeah, yeah, I know, this isn’t really a true variation but stay with me.

It’s made from a lovely piece of jersey which is actually reversible although this detail is lost in this dress. The colour blocks are inverted on the reverse so I could also wear it back-to-front, like this….

Again, variation 1 with the belt (far left)

Variation 3. Pockets inside out and tied at the back (centre left). Back view (centre right)

Variation 4. Pockets inside out again but this time joined at the front (far right). I forgot to get Emil to take a pic of that variation. It was so cold I had to go inside and have a cup of (green) tea.

The colour blocking was a lucky outcome of salvaging a failed project. I’d planned on using this fabric for DIY Couture’s slouch top and it would’ve worked out nicely but I cut it out far too wide. I’d never have thought of colour-blocking and it took a lot of playing around with where the blocks would start but I like where they ended up. I probably would have liked the pocket bits to have been a bit wider so I could tie them lower but I’d already hacked into my fabric so I had to do a lot of compromising.

Sometimes working under restrictions  makes me far more creative. In fact, I’d go so far as to say some of my most creative thinking springs from the pressure of limitations.

Lest you think I regularly go round wearing heels in my muddy garden whilst the neighbours twitch their curtains, here’s a more pic that more closely represents reality (with obligatory cat, Jack, in the background)

About smittenness

Sewing and assorted nonsense. For reasons that escape me, I left the sunshine and beaches of Australia for the crisps and glitter of London 12 years ago. I now live in the middle of some kind of feline drop-in centre in the East London. I was lucky enough to learn from two talented and creative women, my mum and my nonna Mieta. Mostly I sew for the sheer love of making things. And I don't think I can stop. Email over here ------> smittenness@gmail.com
This entry was posted in Sewing and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Self-drafted, Three-way, Reversible Dress.

  1. Sweet. I like it best black side up. What book/ tute did you use to draft it? I’m always interested in knitwear pattern-making.

  2. smittenness says:

    Hi, and thanks. I used this to get an idea of the shape…http://www.burdastyle.com/projects/the-one-dress-convertible-dress/instructions/1 but ended up changing it quite a lot. Just have to get some decent weather so I can get out of my hundred layers and wear it.

  3. meggipeg says:

    This is awesome! It is like the Drape Drape 2 #2 dress but with the pointy bit at both sides. I will have to play around with this idea (hope you don’t mind), it’s super cool :)

  4. So neat. Love this dress, and your entire look. Hi to Jack.

Leave a Reply

